Coffee Surprise

Coffee Surprise

I had just about the weirdest day ever today. It’s almost as though someone (or something) was messing with my head. I’m not a big believer in ghosts or the supernatural, but something weird was going on.

It started when I was getting ready to go run some errands in the middle of the day. I’d decided to work from home, mainly because I ended up falling back asleep after my alarm went off. (Oops!) It was a great idea, though, because I had to do laundry before going to work on Saturday, and I had some of those aforementioned errands to run. Before leaving the house, I switched my laundry over to the dryer, set the timer to about 60 minutes, and pushed the start button. When I got back home, it had been about an hour, and I noticed the dryer was no longer running – sweet, the clothes should be dry, right?

Wrong.

When I got downstairs to check, I noticed that the dryer door was partly open, and my clothes were warm and damp. I checked the timer and there were just under 50 minutes remaining. There was nothing extraordinarily heavy in that load to kick the door open, and the door has never opened on its own before – it latches pretty securely. At this point, I was perplexed, but I turned the dryer back on and then did a quick search through the basement and the rest of the house just to make sure someone hadn’t broken in and was waiting for me (thank goodness it was broad daylight). The house was empty, so I shrugged it off. Weird, yes, but I had other things to worry about.

Then, partway through my 4pm meeting, it felt like someone was tickling the back of my neck. My hair was up in a bun, so that wasn’t the culprit. I’m willing to chalk this one up to just being paranoid, but combined with the rest of today’s events, I’m not totally sure.

Later in the evening, after I got home from the gym, I cleaned out my backpack and put some of the “found” items on the stove before heading into the shower. Halfway through my shower, the lights flickered, and then went out entirely. I’ve never seen such darkness before; it was pitch black. And I had conditioner in my hair and apricot scrub on my face. I hurried my way through the rest of the shower in the dark, and then jumped out with a towel on to grab a lighter to light a candle. As soon as I lit the candle, the lights turned back on. Great, I could see. I got dressed and headed to the kitchen to heat up my dinner. When I turned on the kitchen light, I was a little freaked out, because some of the items I’d taken from my bag and put on the stove were now on the floor. They were just vitamins, but still. How did they get over the lip of the stove, onto the floor?

WHAT IS GOING ON IN MY HOUSE?

So based on all of this insanity happening, it’s no wonder that the best thing about today was the free coffee I got at Sheetz when I stopped to get gas. I was planning on getting a drink anyways, but then I saw that they’re giving away free coffee to everyone through the rest of the month. Totally made my day… and at least now, if I can’t sleep at night because creepy things are happening, I can at least enjoy my gigantic coffee in the morning (I put it in the fridge so I can have iced coffee).

Seriously though, what is going on?!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee Surprise

  1. Pingback: Five Things Friday: 10/16/15 Edition | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

