Hot Lava

Hot Lava

Over the past 24 hours, I’ve done almost everything I wanted to do, and that makes me happy.

Trivia was canceled at work last night (boo), so instead we worked on packing up our boxes for the moving crew to relocate us over the weekend. Beer Friday was also sort of a dud, so I escaped from work at a reasonable hour, and totally sober. I went straight to Costco, where I browsed the aisles to decompress from the work week, and finally managed to pick up a take-and-bake pizza while I was at it.

Before Costco, though, I had to take the bus to my car. As I was riding, I opened up Facebook and saw that someone had reposted a Buzzfeed “article” about slow-cooker molten chocolate lava cake. I thought it sounded good, but I didn’t think much of it… until I was passing Giant Eagle, of course. Without even thinking about what I was doing, I turned around and headed into the grocery store. I picked up a box of chocolate cake mix (I know, lazy, but it was getting late and it was going to take 2.5 hours to cook, so yeah. I am lazy), a box of chocolate fudge instant pudding mix, and some chocolate chips.

I got home, preheated the oven for my pizza, and then threw the cake mix together in the pressure cooker (it has a slow-cooker setting), and then tossed in the pudding mixed with milk, and about half a bag of mini chocolate chips. By the time all the ingredients were happy together and getting warm, my pizza was ready to leave the oven.

I spent the rest of the night chowing down on pizza (which really lives up to the hype – it was pretty darn good), re-watching The Silver Linings Playbook (much better after reading the book), and then indulging in some pretty awesome molten chocolate lava cake while soaking in the tub. It was a nice night.

And then this morning, I met my parents for breakfast and I discovered that they were planning on maybe going somewhere over Halloween weekend too… so we discussed, and eventually we decided that my dad will stay home with the puppies (he has a work trip the next weekend that he’s looking forward to), and my mom and I are going to go somewhere. We’re leaning towards Cancun/Riviera Maya due to the prices, but I’m also trying to get her to look into San Juan, PR. In any case, I’m pretty excited to have a traveling companion, and also to be able to split some of the cost.

We ate and ate and ate, and then I gave them half of the lava cake before they left. I love it, but I can’t be trusted around an entire slow-cooker full of chocolate.

After breakfast, I went to the gym to compensate for all the pizza/lava cake/Deluca’s breakfast. While there, I did enough for two workouts, so there’s no guilt about having more lava cake when I got home. πŸ˜‰

And now, I’m off to work. All in all, it’s been a pretty great 24 hours. Especially since I know there’s still more lava cake in the fridge for when I get home. πŸ™‚

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

