Homestyle

Homestyle

Something has been going on with me, and I’m not quite sure what it is. Normally I’m pretty perky and full of energy, even at the end of the day. This week, though, I’ve been absolutely knackered by about 1 or 2 pm. Like, I had to lay my head down at my desk today because it felt like I was going to fall over from being so tired.

What perplexes me even more is that I’ve been almost constantly nauseated for a good part of the week. No vomiting, and I don’t really feel like I want to or need to, but riding the bus leaves me feeling drained and like I might not make it off the bus before showing other riders the contents of my stomach.

So weird, right? Otherwise I feel fine. Maybe a low-grade fever, but that’s kind of normal for me. I hesitate that it might be the dreaded “S” word, so I’m going to chalk it all up to dehydration and hitting the gym a lot. I just really wish I’d get my energy back (or at least some of it).

Anyway, the past couple days I’ve been craving meatloaf, which is extra-weird because I hate meatloaf. I always have; I was forced to choke it down as a child, so as an adult I refuse to even acknowledge its existence. BUT. This week, man. My whole world is upside down.

Since I never seem to cook red meat properly, and I was too darn tired to do some research to see where I could buy some meatloaf, I settled for the next-best thing: vegan walnut lentil loaf. Now before the meatloaf lovers out there protest, let me say that the lentil loaf is actually a pretty delicious stand-in. Personally, I like it a heck of a lot more than “real” meatloaf. I recommend this recipe, and I usually double the amount of sauce for on top (it’s comprised of ketchup, maple syrup, and balsamic, so three of my most favorite things).

To go along with my “homestyle” comfort food meal, I made healthy-ish garlic thyme mashed potatoes. “Healthy-ish” because I needed to use up some plain nonfat Greek yogurt, and because I didn’t have any milk in the house, so I ended up using the yogurt + some unsalted chicken broth, along with a whole lot of minced garlic and dried thyme. The end result was actually pretty darn tasty.

I’m hoping I get over whatever this “thing” is soon, but if not, at least I’ll have lots of comfort food to keep me well-fed!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

