Self-Soothing

Self-Soothing

When I was a kid, I was a thumb-sucker. Not only that, but I carried a dingy old blanket around with me everywhere I went. It’s as though Linus from the Peanuts gang was modeled after me, even though he came first. One of my oldest memories is with my dad and me at my grandma’s house, and I was hiding under the island in her kitchen because she kept yelling at me to take my thumb out of my mouth. Earlier that day, my parents had “disposed” of my blankie (except, not really, because I found out later that they just hid it). I couldn’t handle losing my blankie, so I was sucking my thumb. Hardcore. Eventually that habit went away, but it’s clear I’ve been a self-soother for as long as I can remember.

So when I got a flu shot today at work, I promised to get myself some Pittsburgh Popcorn to make the afternoon better. I got a small bag of buffalo ranch popcorn and ate half at my desk, plenty content.

But then I subbed in on a friend’s volleyball team, and I was reminded of why I left that team in the first place. Many (MANY) reasons, but suffice it to say that I was happy when I got there, and then just incredibly annoyed by the time I left. So to make myself feel better, I went to Page Dairy Mart for my last visit of the year. They close around 10/28, and they’re already out of close to half of their menu. In fact, the thing I wanted (Yinzer Sundae) was gone, so I had to settle for a SouthSide Shake. Not a bad compromise, but when you’re in the mood for a blondie and caramel, a shake does not quite fill the need.

So now I’m wondering what I can get into next. This self-soothing thing is a slippery slope!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

