Chinese Democracy

Chinese Democracy

I’ve had Chinese food on the brain for a couple days now, and after the night we had last night, I felt I deserved it today. I don’t think I’ve ever worked so hard in my life, physically, as I did last night. As a result, my time in the gym this morning was a little painful. But I did take some time to do do some extra stretching, so hopefully everything feels better tomorrow.

I normally have a standard place I go to for Chinese, but in order to go there I would have had to backtrack from where I’d already been. So in the interest of fairness, both to me and to the Chinese restaurants of Pittsburgh, I opted to give another place a shot. I headed to Squirrel Hill and tried Zaw’s for the first time. I’ve heard mixed reviews about Zaw’s – some swear by them, and others say it’s crap – but I figured everyone deserves a chance, right?

It’s not the nicest place in Pittsburgh, and certainly not the cleanest… but I’m adventurous and I feel like a little dirt and grime helps the immune system. 😉 I placed my order and then walked around Squill for about 20 minutes. When I arrived back in the restaurant, my food was waiting for me. I drove it home and proceeded to tuck in.

First: the dumplings. I normally don’t order dumplings, but they just sounded good today. $5.50 got me an order of 8 dumplings, which wasn’t too shabby. Plus, they were good. Sure, they’re no Everyday Noodles soup dumplings, but they’re still quite good steamed pork dumplings.

My “second course” was General Tso’s chicken with a side of white rice. I opened the container of chicken, and to be honest, I was a little confused. The chicken was served with two maraschino cherries on top, as though the chicken was a sundae. There was broccoli (a few obligatory tiny stalks) tucked  away underneath all the chicken and sauce, but the cherries just didn’t make any sense to me. The chicken itself was pretty decent, though – lightly breaded (I hate too much breading) and all white meat from what I could tell. The sauce was a little too sweet and not spicy enough for my liking, but the spicy part can easily be fixed. Also, I liked that the entire container was chicken (and broccoli and cherries, haha), and the rice was served in a separate container. That means more chicken for me, and less soggy rice. 🙂

All in all, I’m glad I took a chance on Zaw’s. It’s a little more expensive than my regular place (which is funny because everyone says that Zaw’s is dirt-cheap), but I liked the dumplings a lot, and I really appreciated the white meat chicken pieces. Maybe next time I’ll ask for my chicken to be spicy and see if the result makes smoke come out of my ears. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

