Ripple Effect

Ripple Effect

Last year around this time, my friend Tony mentioned that the yogurt pictured above – Dannon Light & Fit Greek Caramel Apple Pie – was the best yogurt he’d ever had and he highly recommended I go get some. Unfortunately, by the time I’d heard about it, stores were sold out. Still, I kept my eyes peeled starting in September, and I finally found it at Giant Eagle yesterday. Knowing I’d be heading to the gym after work, I brought it along with me today to have as a snack and didn’t think any more about it for the rest of the morning and early afternoon.

But then I got dragged into a call from 4-6, and before I knew it, it was after 6 and I hadn’t had a chance to eat my yogurt and all I wanted to do was go home. Begrudgingly, I changed into my gym clothes in the bathroom and then grabbed the yogurt from the fridge. I forced myself to sit down and eat it, even though I really just wanted to throw it in my bag and head straight home. For some reason, this yogurt seemed to take f-o-r-e-v-e-r to eat, but probably just because I was so darn tired… and maybe because I was multitasking while eating it.

Eventually, I headed out the door and started walking towards the bus stop. On my way there, I noticed a strange piece of paper rolling around on the ground – it looked like one of my old paychecks from a previous job. I paused, picked it up, and then realized that it was someone’s paycheck, and it was signed. I looked around me, but no one in the immediate area looked panicked, so I took it. I walked the rest of the way to my bus stop with my mind racing – what do I do with someone’s paycheck? I didn’t know the person, and the employer’s name didn’t look familiar (and the address listed wasn’t downtown). I walked past my bus, and decided to do a little internet research to find info on the company. Turns out the DBA name was a recognizable one, and they had a location downtown. So I turned on my heel and walked diagonally across downtown to get there.

When I walked in the door, I asked the first person I saw if he knew the person listed on the paycheck. He didn’t, and none of his coworkers had ever heard the name. He was starting to hand the check back to me when I mentioned that the company’s corporate address was listed on the check and asked him to verify that it was the same company he worked for. He did, and then decided to keep the check for safekeeping. I breathed a quick sigh of relief, knowing that at least I was no longer responsible for what happened to the check.

… But then I got into my own head. The dude at the company obviously didn’t know the check’s owner, so why did I leave it there? Frantic, I posted a message on twitter asking if anyone knew the check’s owner, and luckily a bunch of people retweeted (thank you all!)… at the same time, I found someone who had the same name on Facebook, and I sent him a message. I never got a response to my Facebook message, but a few hours after sending out my tweet, the paycheck’s owner was found. Hallelujah for social media, right?

So now the owner knows where his paycheck is, and I can rest easy tonight. Had I not stopped to eat that yogurt that my friend told me about last year, I wouldn’t have been the one to find the paycheck. And while I’d love to think that everyone would have tried to find the owner, let’s be honest – it was a signed paycheck lying in the street. I’m glad I found it, and I’m glad it got into the right hands.

I’m also glad I got that yogurt, because Tony wasn’t lying – it was pretty good. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

