Accidentally Delicious

Accidentally Delicious

This breakfast casserole wasn’t supposed to happen, but here it is. I was retrieving an egg for something else, and the entire rest of the carton slipped and fell to the ground – 5 cracked eggs in total. Not wanting to waste perfectly good materials on the trash, I scooped them up (they were pretty clean cracks – very little to clean up!) and made a plan.

I threw a couple sweet potatoes that were on their last legs into the pressure cooker and set to work on slicing up some leftover Italian-style chicken sausage that I hadn’t had a chance to use yet. 15 minutes later, the sausage was sliced, the eggs were beaten (along with some additional egg whites since I hate the taste of the yolks), and my sweet potatoes were cooked through. I added some nutritional yeast to the eggs and threw everything together in a pan, added a little grated parmesan cheese, rosemary, and black pepper to the pan, and then threw the pan into the oven.

Thirty minutes later, my breakfast for the rest of the week emerged. It smells pretty amazing, and I’m glad I was able to take something ugly (cracked eggs) and turn it into something delicious. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

