Festive Detour

Festive Detour

Around lunchtime today, I grabbed some friends for a popcorn run to Pittsburgh Popcorn for their candy cane corn. My friends had been planning on going to an Indian buffet for lunch, and the popcorn was in the other direction. They were cool with the popcorn, though, so it wasn’t a big deal.

In order to spend more time with them, and more time outside on such a nice day, I walked with them to the Indian buffet (I’d brought my lunch and had a call starting within 15 minutes, so no Indian for me). On the way, we passed Heinz Hall and I saw a sign outside the building proclaiming the hall was open for visitors to check out the Christmas tree between 11 and 2. On a whim, we decided to stop in.

As we walked inside, some people sitting at a table noticed us and got up – turns out it was a “guided” viewing! Our guide took us in to see the HUGE tree and told us some facts about it, such as where it came from and where the ornaments are from (they change every year, she said… pretty neat).

It only took a couple minutes out of my day, but stopping in to see the tree was a really nice way to get into the Christmas spirit in the middle of the workday. That candy cane popcorn didn’t hurt either, though. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

