Amish Paradise

  
Some people choose to vacation in exotic locales, but not my family, apparently. (Just forget those trips to Mexico and the Dominican, okay?) We are the kind of people who vacation in good ole wholesome Ohio. 

My parents requested I use some of my vacation time so we could spend it together, so of course I complied. It doesn’t hurt that they promised all the food I could possibly handle and then some. So far, they’ve delivered on that promise. 

Our very first stop near Berlin, OH was a place called Heini’s Cheese Chalet (pronounced exactly as you’d expect, and it makes me giggle every time). At Heini’s, they have a gigantic store filled with probably 50 cheeses and all the samples you can possibly eat. It was amazing, but now I’m cheesed out for awhile and I didn’t even know that was possible. 

After we ate our weight in cheese, we went for lunch at a bakery/cafe and I tried the most amazing donut hole I’ve ever had in my life. So amazing that we’re going back again tomorrow. We also rocked some gourmet popcorn and a buffet while browsing through Berlin, which is an Amish town. We saw the oldest building in Berlin and almost bought bacon soda and buffalo wing sofa (but we didn’t) before enjoying some scenery on the way to our cabin – contrary to popular belief, Ohio is actually kind of beautiful. 

As for our cabin, it’s pretty great. It’s a secluded log home with new furniture and appliances and it also has a fire ring and a hot tub. Oh, and it was cheaper than a hotel. So. 

Huh. Ohio. Who knew?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

