The Best Laid Plans…

The Best Laid Plans...

I had such big plans for today, my first day of vacation. I was torn between two kinds of days – the lazy day where I sleep in, make a late breakfast, head to the gym, get a haircut (didn’t happen last weekend), and then go see Sisters OR the crazy busy day where I cross another county off of the Surrounding Counties 15 in ’15 list.

[Spoiler alert: there’s pretty much no way the list will be completed before 12/31, and I already have plans to incorporate the outstanding tasks in the 2016 list. Somehow this year really got away from me. I blame the staph infection and eye surgery.]

I ended up with the lazy day, simply because it was raining and I didn’t feel like being outside all day in the rain. Plus, I felt a little “off,” so gym + haircut + movie sounded like a great plan.

Turns out, I only got through one of those things… or actually, about 1.5 of those things.

I was rather proud of myself for getting to the gym during the noon hour and I planned out the timing so that I could still make it to the hair salon before they closed. Well, about 6 minutes into my time on the treadmill, I was suddenly covered in a cold sweat and my stomach started rumbling. Not wanting to give up so easily, I kept going. I ended up making it to exactly 12 minutes before I had to hurriedly grab my stuff and leave. Once I hit the outside air, I felt a little better… until I started driving down the ramp to get to the road. Almost as soon as I turned onto the Tri Boro Expressway, my jaw started to lock up and I panicked. I was going to vomit, there was no question about it. But I was driving. And there was nowhere to pull over. That’s a really, really, REALLY terrible feeling.

At every stop light, I clamped my mouth shut and plugged my nose. I have no idea why, but that seemed to work. Finally, I turned onto a side street, pulled over, briefly choked myself on my seatbelt, and ralphed onto the side of the road. I drove home the rest of the way with the windows completely down, because the cold air made me feel somewhat okay. When I finally got home, I popped some OTC meds and took a 2-hour nap. So much for that haircut…

After about 2 hours of rest, I felt almost completely normal. Not normal enough to go back to the gym to finish my workout, but normal enough to go sit in a movie theater to watch Sisters. Plus, it was Bargain Tuesday, so my ticket was only $4. Despite my high expectations (or perhaps because of them), I didn’t enjoy the movie as much as I thought I would. Maybe it’s unfair, but I expected it to be on-par with Trainwreck in terms of humor, but Trainwreck was way better. I still think Tina Fey and Amy Poehler are awesome, but they can do better.

Anyway, I’m going to chalk this experience up to my body telling me maybe I needed a rest day… and hopefully tomorrow I’ll be back to 100%.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Best Laid Plans…

  1. maryaquino says:

    Whoa dude….yeah, get well soon! Hope you had one of those passing, 24 hour type things!

    Like

Leave a Reply

