Spin A Yarn

Spin A Yarn

Here’s a late-in-the-game entry to the 15 in ’15 accomplishments – learning to knit and/or crochet.

When I wrote up the 2015 list, I envisioned the knitting/crocheting happening over Christmas, so at least I’m right on schedule (for this one, not for the rest. Yikes, that list is nowhere near complete!). Back in the day, I think it was after I came back to the states from grad school, my mom and I sort of learned to crochet. We’d sit together on the couch and give it a go every night. I only managed to make a piece of fabric about 12 inches long by 2 inches wide, but my mom worked her way up to a scarf. That’s why I thought she might be able to help with this task… but I was mostly wrong. She didn’t remember how to do it, but she did have a book to give me (quite literally, Crocheting for Dummies).

She became a little obsessed with figuring out how to get the thing started, so I let her work. She found the right page and after picking at it for a while, she managed to get a line (I’m not sure of the correct terminology) started and then gave it to me. As for my contribution to the crochet project, I’m still trying to figure it out. I keep looking at the book and trying to make sense of it, but I think I need Crocheting for Extra-Dumb Dummies. Ah well, at least I made a teensy bit of progress… and now with the book, I can keep trying. That’s really all I wanted out of the 15 in ’15 task. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spin A Yarn

  1. maryaquino says:

    Coloring. I took up coloring. I am NOT a crafty person. After leaving half finished pairs of mittens (yes, one ugly mitten), macrame things, cross stitch projects, jewelry, pottery…..yeah. I went with coloring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

