Buns, Hun

Buns, Hun

Not to make this a recurring theme (it’s not, I promise), but I headed to a different Amish town with my family a couple days ago. My mom has loved Volant for as long as I can remember, and I used to always be dragged there with her and (usually) my grandma. I always hated it until we’d stop for lunch, which was always at a place called the Dumplin’ Haus. This restaurant always had really good soup and even better pie… what more could you ask for?

Sadly, Dumplin’ Haus is no longer around, so when my mom and dad and I headed to the Grove City Outlets on Saturday night and friends offered to meet us for dinner, soup and pie wasn’t in our future. Actually, that’s a lie, because we did end up with French Onion soup. Just no pie.

Anyway, I digress. Our friends were in New Wilmington, which is just a few miles away from Volant and Grove City, so we met them at a place called Tavern On The Square. Our first thought upon arrival was that we had wandered into someone’s large white house. If not for the unlit sign in the yard, we wouldn’t have imagined we were in the right place. In fact, the restaurant was formerly a house, and also a stop on the Underground Railroad. Pretty neat.

We all enjoyed our meals there and all five of us said we’d happily go back. The highlight of our meal was the fresh sticky buns that were brought out to us in lieu of a traditional bread basket. The buns were gone about .003 seconds after our server set them down, but we were able to procure a dozen for home.

Obviously, I couldn’t let my parents keep all the sticky buns to themselves. What kind of daughter would I be if I made them eat them all? 😉 So I took a few, and I’ve been eating them for breakfast for the past two mornings.

As much as I hated going to Volant as a kid, if the Amish keep churning out these sticky buns and their infamous doughnuts, I might be able to deal with going there more often. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buns, Hun

  1. Pingback: One Day More | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

