To Be Or Not To Be

To Be Or Not To Be

Thanks a bunch, Costco. After years and years of coveting the aqua KitchenAid mixers, guess what I saw on sale at Costco? Yep. And guess what just happened to jump into my cart, all on its own? Yep.

So.

Now there’s a KitchenAid mixer in my house, but it’s still in the box. This is because I’ve suddenly been hit with a case of buyer’s remorse. Sure, I’ve always wanted this mixer, but do I need it? No. Can’t I find something else to spend $200 on? Absolutely. And to add to my regrets, it’s not exactly what I wanted… I wanted the 6-quart version with the glass bowl. If I’m going to spend a lot of money on something I don’t need but that I’ve wanted since forever, shouldn’t I at least get the exact one that I want?

So yeah. I bought myself a Christmas present, but I might be taking it back. I don’t normally have regrets when it comes to these types of things, so this is uncharted territory. And really, I rarely buy myself big-ticket items – about 80% of my income goes to paying extra on my mortgage and putting a lot of money in savings every month, about 10% goes to my car lease, and the other 10% goes towards food, bills, and miscellaneous stuff. I can certainly afford the expense, but it’s totally unnecessary.

Any thoughts on whether I should keep the mixer or return it? I’m leaning heavily towards returning it, but on the other hand… it’s so pretty. Merp.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Be Or Not To Be

  1. Pingback: Frosted Flakes | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    I’m a fan of my 5.5 qt that I got at Costco (for $169 after rebates)but I know that if you have a particular color you really want, you may wait a long time to get it at Costco in the size you want.

    I can say that I don’t know how I survived without my Kitchen Aid for as long as I did. I was more focused on size than color….but I did match my new Vitamix (Costco again) to my Kitchen Aid. And my next kitchen will definitely be accented with Kitchen Aid red!

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Hot dang, 5.5 qts for $169?! AND a Vitamix? I’m totally jealous.
      Further complicating matters is that I have a JC Penney Cooks brand stand mixer that works just fine. The only thing missing from it is the ability to add attachments, like a pasta roller or a meat grinder. Otherwise, it has the dough hook, beater, and whisk attachments and they all work just fine. So. Ugh, decisions are hard.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

