Off The Deep End

Off The Deep End

OK, OK, so it’s the shallow end (there is no deep end)…

Most days, I look forward to going to the gym because it’s my stress-reliever (and it also warms me up since I’m normally freezing). But today, I was in a bind. You see, at work today, I solved a problem that’s been outstanding since around December 16. It took me nearly all day of concentrated effort, sooooooo many different testing scenarios, and staying an hour and a half late, but I did it. And when it was finally done and I’d emailed the appropriate people the results, a weird thing happened (ok, maybe not so weird) – I felt about 100 pounds lighter, and I also felt completely drained.

So all day long I daydreamed about what I’d planned to do at the gym, and within seconds of sending that email, all desire to go just vanished. Poof! How annoying.

I made myself go anyway, but I didn’t enjoy it like I usually do. The treadmill was boring and I was easily distracted, and by the time I made my way to the pool, I just wanted to collapse into some warm blankets and call it a day. I cranked out 20 laps; that’s all I could muster. And then when I got out, I almost fell back in because I got dizzy.

So today’s lesson is that maybe a little bit of stress isn’t such a bad thing. It beats being too wiped out to want to do anything.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Off The Deep End

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    That’s funny, as I was about to leave for my volleyball game last night around 7, I got dizzy or light-headed and had to sit down for 10 minutes before I got in my car.

    Like

Leave a Reply

