Cookie Oats

Cookie Oats

I’m not going to pretend this is a recipe, because it’s not. But what it is, is hands-down the best-tasting oatmeal I’ve created since my cannoli oatmeal back in 2013. And the thing is, it’s so simple, I can’t believe I hadn’t thought of it until this morning. Then again, I’m pretty dumb in the mornings (or all the time), so I guess it’s really no wonder.

But this oatmeal, you’ve got to try it. It tastes exactly like the oatmeal scotchies I made a couple days ago… which should not come as a surprise since it uses some of the same ingredients. While I’ve had a raging sweet tooth the past couple weeks, this was the first day I didn’t break down and have cookies for my afternoon snack, and I think this oatmeal is why.

I took 1/3 cup of oats soaked overnight in water, and threw them in the microwave for a couple minutes. Once the oats had cooked, I added a teensy sprinkle of brown sugar, and a small handful of butterscotch chips. Voilà. Breakfast that tastes like a cookie. Though to be honest, I threw an ounce or two of almond coconut milk on top; I like my oatmeal creamy and just a tad runny.

I won’t say it’s “healthy,” but it’s a heck of a lot healthier than cookies!

 

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cookie Oats

  1. maryaquino says:

    Out of all that, my take away was, “Almond Coconut milk? Where do you get that?”

    I have been lunching on oatmeal every day for the last week. Darn. I was at the grocery store and I forgot to get more. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

