Just When I Thought I Was Out…

Just When I Thought I Was Out...

…They pull me back in! I thought I was done with Ohio for a while, but I guess I was wrong.

Since we’re in the hospitality industry, we had our holiday party tonight for my second job. As usual, a good time was had by all, but especially me. We had an open bar with good liquor from 5-?, and that led to some interesting situations… like certain people humping the floor in a lip sync contest (not me, surprisingly). There are some things you cannot unsee.

Personally, I had a blast this year. I tried my first Tom Collins, which led to my second, and then my third… and ushered in what I’ll dub my Gin Era. In college, it was the Tequila Era (or really, whatever anyone handed me). It was the Wine Era while I lived in France. When I started working at my first “real” full-time job in 2006, it became the Miller Lite Era (because that was all I could afford since convenience stores pay more…). Then I moved on to vodka, then craft beers, and eventually whiskey. The Whiskey Era stuck around for a long time, and it’s still kind of going. Last winter, I decided I like Captain Morgan, so I went through a bit of a phase with that. And now, thanks to my coworkers reminding me to try a Tom Collins, we are in the Gin Era.

Four drinks in an hour and a half, and the room was spinning, so I switched to water for the rest of the night. Totally sober for the ride home. Man, do I know how to do this, or what?

Anyway, since the room wasn’t staying still, and people were chatting me up, I was only halfway paying attention when raffle tickets started being drawn. When I heard my number being called, I was in the middle of a riveting conversation about Reuben sliders. Surprised, I stood up and claimed my prize, without having any clue what I’d just won. When I got back to my table, I saw that I’d won a night’s stay at the Fairfield Inn in Akron… which is funny since I’ve ended up that way so often recently.

So between now and December 31, 2016, I’ll be heading back to Akron, which means more smoked meats, more cheese, and more World Market shopping is in my future. I’m pretty psyched, actually. Now I just need to decide whether I want to share it with my parents (in which case, 2 double beds instead of 1 king), or if I want to go it alone (and sprrrrrrread out in a king bed). I would say that maybe I’ll have someone who wants to go with me by the end of the year, but the chances of that are next to nil. So. Big bed for myself, or share? There’s a tough decision ahead of me. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

