Jersey Girl

Jersey Girl

Welcome to New Jersey, where the weather is largely the same as in Pittsburgh, but WAY windier. I’m on the 8th floor of what’s supposed to be a nice hotel (it’s not), and I can hear the wind whipping. I’m just glad I can’t feel it – I’ve already moved rooms once, because my original room’s heater wasn’t working. It was 63 when I first noticed and asked the front desk for help. We were on our way out to dinner, so they said they’d send an engineer to check it out. When we got back 2.5 hours later, it was colder and the heat was (obviously) still not working. So I went down to the front desk AGAIN, and they once again said they’d have an engineer look at it. I don’t think anyone came up the first time, because the second time the engineer practically took it all apart and told me I had to switch rooms. So now I’m just thankful that the heat works in this one.

As for the plane ride here, it was one of the roughest turbulence-wise I’ve ever been on, but I found it to be kind of fun. We were delayed thanks to a “ground out” in Newark, but that was fine. We had reservations, but someone in the area was holding them for us.

Dinner was at Seasons 52, which would not have been my first choice, but it was good. I got the grilled scallops dinner with a glass of moscato since everyone looked at me like I was crazy when I tried to order an old fashioned. Wimps. Regardless, dinner was good, even if the restaurant wasn’t part of my 17-restaurants-long wish list.

I did manage to hit up one place on my list tonight, though, after I dropped the rest of the team off at the hotel. I went to Kwality Ice Cream, which is an ice cream joint that has a bunch of Indian flavors. That’s definitely not something I’ve ever seen in Pgh, so I was glad I stopped in. The rose ice cream was delicious, but I decided to go for the most unique thing I could find: Falooda Kulfi.

Falooda Kulfi

Yes, those are noodles in my ice cream. And basil seeds. According to the Kwality website, Falooda Kulfi is “Traditional Kulfi & Ice Cream topped with Rabri, Falooda Noodles and Basil Seeds.” They used rose ice cream, so I still got to indulge in that. This was straight up one of the weirdest things I’ve ever eaten. It was good, but just… different. I don’t think I need to go out of my way to get more, but I’m glad I got a chance to try it.

Time to hit the hay, there’s lots to be done tomorrow!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jersey Girl

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

