The Beginning of a Beautiful Friendship

The Beginning of a Beautiful Friendship

There are soooooooooo many things I want to say about this entire process of becoming a volunteer on two American Red Cross teams (all good things), but at this point I feel like I’d just go on and on and on and I’ve already sounded like a raving lunatic at least once this week.

I will say that I had my official volunteer orientation session tonight, and I’m an official Red Cross volunteer – I’m in the system and everything.

There is a TON of information to glean from all of the trainings online, and that’s before I even start meeting with my assigned teams. I’m so excited to dig into the online training sessions to learn as much as I can. I don’t think I’ve ever been this excited to learn as an adult, at least not outside of school/college/grad school. Actually, being the language nerd that I am, I think the last time I was this excited to learn was back in grad school when I took Mandarin, Lingala, and Italian (all taught in French). That might be the height of my excitement in the past, and I feel like I’m reaching those levels with my training. It feels so good to be this jazzed about something so important and meaningful.

This was my first time meeting with some of the administrators and my fellow volunteers, and I will say only this: If the world ends, you want these people to survive it with you. I have never before been in a room with so many polite and just outright nice people. When we got up to take our tour and get our badge photos taken, we were all holding doors for one another, all politely stepping out of everyone else’s way, and all offering to let others go first. They were all so darn considerate! These people, every one of them, acted like how I wish all of society would act. It was so refreshing to have other people be considerate of me, which sounds really sad if you think about it, but considering I spend my commutes often with someone stepping on me, sitting on me (for real), or otherwise bothering me while I try to make myself insignificant, it was such a burden off of my shoulders to spend time with such amazing people.

I made sure to ask about cross-training, and it sounds like that’s encouraged as well. So even though I’m assigned to the teams I volunteered for, I can still take/attend trainings for other areas. After 15 hours of service (I think), we can get vouchers to attend Red Cross CPR training, as well as a few other services-based trainings. Basically, I’m looking forward to expanding my skill set a bit, and this will help me do that.

I can’t wait until I start meeting with my teams; right now one meeting is scheduled for a couple weeks from now, and the other team meeting is TBD. I just want to get started on doing stuff and helping asap. But in the meantime, while I wait for my team meetings, I have hours upon hours of online trainings available to me. Better get started! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beginning of a Beautiful Friendship

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    You rock! Go be awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

