Something’s Missing

After months of having to run up or down flights of steps to go to the bathroom thanks to a stupid-long remodel, the bathrooms on my floor at work finally opened today. I have to admit, I was weirdly excited about them opening back up – you don’t realize how crucial it is to have a bathroom on your floor until your 9am call runs long and the people for the 10am call are already dialing in and you really need to pee thanks to that coffee you just drank. Needless to say, there has been lots of frantic stair-running happening over the past few months.

So when we got the email that our bathrooms were once again open for business, I was jazzed. I stopped in to wash the bus grime off my hands, and noticed something weird – it’s kind of dark in there. Too dark. Like, they only installed about 1/4 of the lights that are in the bathrooms on other floors. There are no lights at all above the stalls, and none near the sinks and mirrors. I wasn’t the only one who noticed, either – it was quite the topic of conversation around the office. Theories for why we’re missing a bunch of lights range from we’re trying to be green, to we ran out of money, to my personal favorite “it’s mood lighting so we look better.” Regardless, it’s way dark and it weirds me out. Plus, they installed the crazy sensor toilets that flush like 5 times while you’re pulling your pants up.

What I’d previously viewed to be an inconvenience has now obviously turned me into a bathroom snob. I think I’ll keep running the stairs so I can pee without a flashlight.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

