Love Yourself

Love Yourself

When I set out to run errands at 9 am, I wasn’t feeling too optimistic about the day, but things quickly turned around for the better.

My first stop was Walmart, because if I know anything, it’s that Walmart gets cray after 10 am, so if you want to escape with a modicum of your sanity, you should go early. I got in and out with no harm done, and the cashier was actually friendly and looked me in the eye. It was a Sunday miracle!

The one and only good thing about the weather being as cold as it is, is that I was able to put my coconut almond milk in the trunk for hours without worrying about it going bad. From Walmart, I went to Costco and then Target, where I saw a large group of dudes huddled around the card section. I had the teensiest pang of jealousy, until I got distracted by the sale on LaCroix seltzer water. At that point, it was game on; I made a snap decision to turn a stupid holiday that’s all about love and couples and blahblahblah into a sort of cheap Treat Yo Self/Love Yo Self day (not in that way, but you do you… ahem).

Nearly an entire Mini Cooper’s worth of seltzer later, I decided to treat myself to brunch in the South Side, where I got the biscuit special from The Pub Chip Shop. The special was a biscuit with honey butter, fried chicken, and canadian bacon. I ate half of it in the car, and then did some more tooling around the South Side and then Squirrel Hill. I had a bit of a tour of Eastern Pittsburgh going on.

When I finally got home, I decided to make some dark chocolate chip brownies since I didn’t get any cookies at work last night And then I sat on the couch with Pandora and Pinterest and started to get a little lonely. Suddenly, I remembered I’d forgotten to do something – sign up for my first on-call shift! A quick email later, and I’ve now been confirmed for the 6pm-midnight shift tonight. That means the little bit of loneliness has been replaced by excitement, nerves, and uncertainty – I’ve heard Sundays are busy, but there’s also a chance I won’t get called at all. Regardless, having something to think about other than myself is a welcome distraction. šŸ™‚

Wish me luck on getting an “easy” call tonight!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

