Strange Brew

Strange Brew

I’m pretty sure the folks at Lakefront Brewing in Milwaukee didn’t intend for their pint glasses to hold iced matcha lattes, but that’s the kind of brew it held today!

I got a few tablespoons of bulk matcha at the East End Food Co-Op on Saturday and gave it a try today. I mixed 2 tsp with about 1 – 1.5 cups of unsweetened coconut almond milk, added a squirt of agave, and set it all loose on the NutriBullet. The result was delicious – frothy, fresh-tasting, and not-too-sweet. Plus, HELLO ENERGY. I drank it at around 1 and noticed the energy surge right away – nothing too crazy but a noticeable uptick. Work flew by the rest of the afternoon, and then I had a nice 100-minute workout between the treadmill and the pool… and I even managed to record my fastest 50m ever in the pool today, at lap 39! Sustained energy for the win!

Guess I’ll be jumping on Amazon to see if I can buy more matcha on the cheap, cause it looks like it might be my newest food/drink obsession!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Strange Brew

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Okay, matcha – what does it taste like? Anything you can compare it to?

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Matcha is powdered green tea made of complete leaves, and from what I’ve read, the leaves are specially-grown and they’re shaded for the last few weeks of their growing cycle to force the plants to produce more chlorophyll. This means that matcha makes a green tea that’s actually a vibrant green, vs the brownish/yellowish tea that comes from other forms of green tea.
      As for the taste, I’m not sure of the best way to describe it… fresh? Clean? It tastes like green tea, but 1000% better. If you’ve ever gotten a green tea latte or frappuccino from Starbucks, they use matcha.
      I’m not big on green tea; I’ll drink it if it’s around, but it always tastes bitter to me. Matcha isn’t bitter at all; it’s naturally sweeter. I recommend picking up a couple tsp of it just to try, if you’re able to find it in the MB area – it’s pretty darn tasty!

      Like

      • maryaquino says:

        I am gonna look for it. I am a coffee drinker so bitter doesn’t other me, but I don’t get an energy jolt from it anymore (been drinking coffee for 40 yrs). And, I know green tea is better for you….so…I will investigate my natural food stores and see. Or, maybe just amazon prime it LOL. Thank you for the info!

        Like

      • Lindsay says:

        I bought mine out of curiosity, but our co-op charged about $99/lb for it. My couple of tablespoons cost me around $6, which is still cheaper than Starbucks, but it’s kind of out of my league for what amounts to around 3 glasses of tea.
        I found one on Amazon that should be arriving by Thursday; it’s $14.70 for 8oz… that amounts to ~$1.84/oz vs ~$6.18/oz. Hopefully I like it just as much as the one I’ve already tried, because at less than 1/3 of the cost, the Amazon one is the only one I can afford.

        Like

      • maryaquino says:

        Let me know if the Amazon one meets your standards. I’m gonna see if the local natural food store has it…..unlikely down here, but I will see!

        Like

Leave a Reply

