Words With Friends

Words With Friends

I changed things up tonight thanks to the moderately warm-ish weather, and I went for a long jaunt through my old neighborhood. Before I moved to my house nearly 8 years ago, I lived in Point Breeze, which remains one of my favorite neighborhoods to this day. Every time I stop by, I miss it immensely and wish I could afford a house in the neighborhood (spoiler alert: I can’t).

I started off walking, but I had another matcha latte today and I was kind of wired. I drank the matcha at noon, and had to fight the urge to dance and run and pound steps all afternoon to work off the energy… so my walk in the evening turned into mostly a run. The good part of this is that all my workouts over the past year or so have gotten me in probably the best shape of my life, and running for 45 minutes straight (including steep hills I’ve never run up before!) was no problem. Despite the fact that I hate running, I had a grand ole time tonight, running through the cemetery (as shown above, darkly), into Squirrel Hill, and back through the rest of Point Breeze.

The last few times I’ve gone through the cemetery something weird has happened, and tonight was no exception – at one point, I was running through and I heard what sounded like someone dropping a stack of phone books directly behind me. I jumped, then turned and there was no one there. I’m not one to give too much thought to ghosts and the like, but seriously, EVERY TIME I’m in that darn cemetery, something creepy goes on. After that, I spent the rest of my run talking to myself out loud, to keep myself company. I joked to myself that I was hanging out and talking to all my friends, and remarked about how they’re all great listeners (get it? Cause they’re dead!). I laughed, but the ghosts didn’t.

While running isn’t my preferred exercise these days, it was nice to shake things up a bit tonight. I still don’t plan on doing any races this year (and while I felt fast tonight, I’m sure I’m still as slow as molasses), but it’s nice to know I can jump back into it if I change my mind. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

