Broken Wings

Broken Wings

Another crazy and awesome day is in the books. Not long after I published my post about my first disaster call, I got a call from someone that was at the fire last night, asking if I wanted to come back in today to do some follow-up. I’d already had plans for the night, but I left work about a half hour or so early (shhh, don’t tell!) and made my way to the Red Cross so that I could help out a little more.

Today’s trip led me to someone’s home in a part of town I’d only been to once before (and that was by accident). Across the street was a bar with the windows smashed in, so that tells you the kind of neighborhood we were in. Luckily, it was still light out and we didn’t have any trouble. And, bonus, I was able to get a ride straight to the bus stop instead of back to the office, so I was able to save a little time. Win!

The second part of my evening (the planned part) was a sort of going-away party for some friends I met through volleyball. One of the two people is leaving tomorrow, and the other is following at some point before June, so we all met up for drinks. Having spent a season or two mostly away from volleyball (just subbing in, I needed some distance), it was fantastic to see everyone again. Plus, I’m playing again starting later this month, so it was nice to “officially” meet some of my new teammates outside of seeing them on the other side of the net. I got some wings and fries to go with my Tom Collins and held up the bar with some friends. It was a great time, and it felt nice to go out for something other than the gym, work, and volunteer stuff. I’m going to be pretty bummed when the next season starts up and some of our friends aren’t with us, but I’m happy for them and their new opportunities.

So now I’m home, showered, and getting ready to tuck into my Kindle. An 11 pm bedtime is way better (but less exciting) than a 4 am bedtime. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broken Wings

  1. maryaquino says:

    How can I live vicariously through you if you wimp out by 11 pm? Just kidding 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

