Fizzy

Fizzy

Somehow, somewhere along the way, word got out at my full-time job that I’m in the restaurant/event planning business on the weekends. So when my boss’s boss approached me last week and asked me to plan an event for our group today, I shouldn’t have been surprised, but I was – it’s not like that’s in my full-time job description, you know? Regardless, it gave me a chance to get out of the office to do “research” on some places, and that’s never a bad thing.

After a couple of our top choices proved very difficult to work with, I stopped in at Ten Penny to see what they had to offer. I’d visited once before, during a blogger event back in October 2014, and I remember I liked the place a lot. Compared to the other places I’d been to that day, the hostess at Ten Penny and the general manager (also named Lindsay) treated me like royalty. The hostess led me to their back meeting room to discuss our requirements, and then Lindsay showed me the downstairs club area where they host a nightclub on weekends. Since our event was going to be on a Tuesday (tonight), there was no charge for the room, and we could have it all to ourselves. Sold!

Tonight was the actual event, and it went great! I grabbed a couple friends and we headed over a little early to scope out the place, and I got a really delicious drink called The Phipps. It was very similar to a Ramos Gin Fizz, which I’d never had before… and based on this version of it, I’ll definitely be seeking it out the next time I’m in a cocktail bar. The main liquor was gin, but it was very subtle. The drink itself was perfectly sweet – not dessert sweet, but sweet enough that it felt like a special treat (if that makes any sense). It was fantastic, but it wasn’t part of our regular package, so when the time came for the event to start, I had to switch over to another drink.

For our food, we decided to do a bunch of appetizers. We ordered a cheese plate, antipasti, bruschetta, a crudité platter, parmesan spinach crostini, and smoked pork & turkey sliders. As a bonus, Ten Penny threw in some chocolate chip cookies and added an additional liquor and a couple additional beers and wines to the package. The price wasn’t bad at all (not that I had to shell out my credit card for it), and the staff was very easy to work with. Every person in the room loved all the food; all I heard all night was how great everything was. People were having such a good time that we extended the party an extra hour, but I took off around that time – the treadmill doesn’t run by itself, right?

I was one of the first to leave, but that ended up being perfect – I switched to soda water for the last hour or so, which meant I was in great shape to drive to the gym. Plus, considering we have an event starting rather early tomorrow and I needed to prepare some stuff for it, I kind of wish I would’ve left a little earlier (but was having too much fun to notice the time).

It was a fun night with a lot of new friends (people flew in from all over the world to be there) and a ton of great food. If you’re looking for an awesome private party location in the Downtown area, I highly suggest Ten Penny. Not only is the location amazing and the downstairs is gorgeous (and without a fee during the week); the food is also delicious, the packages are reasonable, and they were super easy and friendly to work with. (And no, they have no idea I have a blog, so they certainly didn’t ask me to write this.)

Now to finish up my work so I can be Downtown before 8am tomorrow… 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fizzy

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

