Not Even A Challenge

Not Even A Challenge

Greetings from the Westin hotel in gorgeous Downtown Pittsburgh! Yes, you read that correctly – I’m checked into a hotel in my own city. The big conference I’ve been helping with over the past few months started today, and it’s mandatory for our entire team – even the locals – to stay overnight. Does your work have mandatory sleepovers? Didn’t think so.

It’s been an insane day, after a late night last night and an early morning today. I had to drive in, which took about an hour, and I had to be at the hotel at 8. So yeah, I’m pooped. Add onto that the fact that I was asked to be the official event photographer (no idea how or why that happened), plus I was named a team captain for our team-building activities, and I’m just done.

Speaking of our team-building activity, we were divided into teams of about 8 and challenged to a guacamole and margarita-making contest. I kind of took charge of the margaritas, which seemed like the natural choice for me. We were the only group that made two kinds, plus we salted our rims and used natural garnishes. The pink ones were strawberry rosemary margaritas, and the purple ones were blackberry mint margs. By the time the judges got to us, they’d already started to melt, but it didn’t matter – we won that contest pretty easily. Our guacamole was delicious as well, but the margaritas were no contest. Afterwards there was a bit of a call of “shenanigans” since I’m a bartender, but my reasoning is this – it’s not my fault no one else has a second job! We won fair and square as far as I’m concerned. 🙂

I skipped out of the post-dinner festivities to sync the day’s photos and to head to the gym, so now I’m thinking it’s time for bed. It’s another super-early (and LONG) day tomorrow, and I’m ready to fall asleep typing. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Even A Challenge

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Yup – we have sleep-overs. It’s awesome. Looks like we both work for awesome companies!

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Mmm, but a lot of us weren’t too keen on sleeping over. We understood why (a lot of people were doing a lot of drinking), but for those of us who weren’t into the drinking thing, we would have maybe preferred to sleep in our own beds. But what’s done is done. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

