Hazy Days

Hazy Days

Oh man, it was such a weird day. I’m pretty disoriented after this past week (or this entire month, for that matter).

Last night when I left the party to download the event pictures, I sent a message to my boss’s boss’s boss asking how he’d like me to get them to him so that he could share them in the morning. I didn’t hear anything from him for a couple hours, so I assumed I’d just take my computer with me and we’d plug and play the slideshow. With that thought in mind, I hopped into bed around midnight and watched some tv to clear my head. Before turning the lights out at around 1, I made the mistake of checking my emails… and there was a meeting request (sent at after 12:30 am) to meet with the dude at 7:30 in the morning, before everyone else showed up, so that we could sync the photos. OY.

So today got off to a very early start. I’m the exact opposite of a morning person, so I was less than thrilled. No one knew that, because I can be professional at any hour of the day, but man was I hurting. After I met up and did the photo thing, I grabbed some coffee and headed back up to my room. There was a fascinating show on tv with a monkey riding a skateboard, and that seemed more important than mingling at unreasonably early hours. ๐Ÿ™‚

The rest of the day went by in a haze. Lots of learning. Lots of clapping. Wayyyyy too much talking. During this conference, my name was on the main screen and I was applauded several times, which just skeeves me out since I’d rather blend in than be front and center… but I appreciated the sentiment.

For the life of me, I can’t figure out why people seem to like me so much. Personally, I think I’m kind of a horrible person, but the general public doesn’t seem to think the same way. Maybe I’m just really good at faking it? I have no idea. And you wouldn’t think an entire team full of dudes would be huggers, but when I went in for the handshake, almost all of them went for the hug. Even the people I barely knew. So much ofย “You did such a great job!” and “It was so great finally meeting you!” and “Thank you so much for helping me on [xyz]!” I spoke with a French guy (in French!) based in Prague, and I told him I’m coming to work with him in a couple years. He very much encouraged me, and even made it a point to tell my boss’s boss that (haha). And then he hugged me and kissed me. So there’s that. If nothing else comes out of this conference, I at least got a little action. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m so glad it’s done, though. I have a lot of catch-up work to do tomorrow, and we’ll be having a debriefing meeting probably next week, but I’m glad the hard part is over.

Now back to my regularly-scheduled, hugless work schedule!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hazy Days

  1. maryaquino says:

    Oh, and big round of applause for your name being up on the big screen. That’s cool stuff!

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Thanks! It was weird. Especially the first time it happened – I was playing on my phone and clearly wasn’t paying attention. When my name was called and I was asked to stand, I literally snapped my head up, turned to the person next to me and said, “What? What just happened? Me? Did he say me?” #awkward

      Liked by 1 person

  2. maryaquino says:

    Clearly you are good at your job…and while I’m sure you REALLY know it…you’re not a horrible person. Horrible people don’t geek out over volunteering.

    Like

Leave a Reply

