Pushing Through

Pushing Through

Things are back to their regularly cheerful content around these parts, thank goodness. I think if I’ve learned anything from Facebook/Hatergate, it’s that maybe you just shouldn’t engage people on Facebook unless you are 100% certain of how they’ll react. Really, I think that’s applicable to anyone, at any time, and it’s a good lesson to learn.

In happier news, I got a really awesome email from someone in the volunteer organization today. Turns out the calls from all the volunteers I’ve worked with demanding I be made a regular full-fledged Team Member have been heard, and I’ll be “official” tomorrow night! But it gets better… because the email went on to say that I’m well on my way to being a Team Lead. There’s a step between Team Member and Team Lead, and it looks like I might be on my way to skipping over it. I’m curious to see how that turns out, since my first meeting they made a big deal of explaining why someone was made a Team Lead after being with the chapter for a short amount of time – turns out, that person was a Team Lead at another chapter before moving here. So if I’m some random person off the street who gets promoted that quickly, well… I can’t imagine there won’t be some sort of mutiny. Actually, there might not be, and it all goes back to these people being the most amazing people I’ve ever known (Facebook incidents aside).

So. I’m really pumped for tomorrow. I’m also excited because we’re doing something I’ve been curious about for a long time, so it should be extra-fun. Self high-five!

In other news, I was tapped to train my boss’s boss’s boss at work… so that should be interesting. And I also got a nice little monetary reward for helping to plan last week’s conference. It’s so nice working for a company where people appreciate the things you do. Also, I’m getting a new computer tomorrow! Yay! Because the Surface Pro 3 that I have (had) sucks! Boo! But new computer first thing in the morning, yay!

After this exciting workday, I’d planned to go to the gym to rock out some miles on the treadmill and then swim, but the weather was too darn perfect. Instead, I made a last-minute decision to go for a run around the cemetery instead of watching tv on the treadmill. I’m happy to report that I didn’t get lost in the cemetery today, and I was so energized by everything going on that I was able to push through an extra 20 laps in the pool over the rather ambitious amount I’d scheduled for the day.

And now? I’m completely knackered. An hour of run/walking followed by over an hour of nonstop laps means that I almost fell asleep at a stop light, and I’m currently too pooped to move off of the couch. I might need to set up camp here for the night. But it’s all good since I have some things to look forward to tomorrow! 🙂

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

