The Situation Room

The Situation Room

I TOTALLY nerded out tonight. Like, I was completely captivated. For our monthly Disaster Action Team meeting tonight, we got to visit the Allegheny County Department of Emergency Services, which included a tour of The Situation Room (for real, that’s what it’s called) and the 911 Communications Center (dispatch). It was so friggin cool.  While in the Sit Room, we had the Interim Chief telling us about the center itself and answering our questions, and then when we moved to the 911 Comm Center, we got to watch as actual events were happening and we got to ask a zillion questions to their trainers. Appropriately enough, we were all in the room while there was a huge fire going on in a nearby neighborhood, and when the workers brought it to our attention on their screens, we all took an excited look around the room like, “Okay, who’s on call tonight?!” It was kind of funny. And probably disturbing to the 911 people.

We all had sooooo many questions, and they were great at answering them thoroughly. I learned so much tonight, and it’s an opportunity I never would’ve had if I hadn’t decided to volunteer with the Red Cross. I can’t say enough how strange and confusing it is to feel like I’m getting way more out of this organization than this organization is getting out of me. In fact, I sent a message to our volunteer coordinator today to ask what else I can do because it’s not enough, and we’re planning to set up a meeting for just the two of us to see where I’d best fit in. I want to be there all day, every day (but also retain my regular jobs).

In other news, I became an “official” Team Member (instead of just a Trainee) today, which was exciting. I received a nice shirt to mark the occasion as well. And in the morning, I was personally invited to attend the Team Leader Workshop that’s happening next month, but unfortunately it’s on a Saturday, and it’s also on my birthday. I’m likely going to see if I can request off for it, though, because I want this more than I’ve wanted any paying job in my life. Geez, life has completely turned a 180 in the past 3 months, but I can honestly say I’ve never been happier about life or more excited to see what comes next.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to take a few deep breaths and wind down a bit before bed tonight – at my current level of excitement, I won’t be sleeping until at least 4 am. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Situation Room

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

