All The Fuzzies

All The Fuzzies

Today thankfully went a lot better than yesterday, but it was still partially a disaster with work meetings. There was a small debacle when a co-worker was sharing her screen with our customer and we were IMing each other at the same time… apparently she was sharing everything and not just one application, which was awkward. We hadn’t said anything bad in the IM window, so it wasn’t a big deal, but it wasn’t the most ideal way to start off the day.

Work-wise, I got a ton of things done today, and then I busted out to head to the volunteer office. It was a gorgeous day, so I walked there and took in all the fuzzy little flower buds on the trees lining Penn Ave.

I met with our volunteer coordinator and discussed some additional volunteer options that are available. I have a bunch of ideas for things I’d like to do, and the good news is that with the training I’ve done so far, I can pretty much do any and all of them. The most logical path is to become part of the Disaster Response Team, for which I have a lot of the training done already thanks to being on the Disaster Action Team. The DRT would probably require more time, and there are different components to it, so I need to look into it further. There are also some completely separate positions available, and I think I’m probably going to pursue one or two of those as well. As always, it was great to sit down with another ARC person and chat… and as always, I got the warm fuzzies just by being in the office. When I mentioned the warm fuzzies, the coordinator just laughed and said that they hear that all the time. Sigh. I friggin love these people. ❤

Also on the topic of fuzzies, that’s the best way to describe my head. It seems that Death Cold 2016 never actually left me, and it’s coming back on with a vengeance. I can’t really breathe and I’m a festering blob of mucous (ewww), but that didn’t stop me from trying to swim tonight. It did not go well. The inability to breathe coupled with near-constant foot cramps meant that I felt sluggish and completely unmotivated. It didn’t stop me from doing my best and getting most of my laps in after hanging out on the treadmill for a while, but I was relieved when I called it quits tonight. Plus, my earplugs keep slipping out of my left ear, and I think I’m getting swimmer’s ear, which I’ve had before and I remember that it was not fun. That, or it’s just Death Cold manifesting itself in a new way. Ugh.

Anyway… I think it’s time for me to do a quick volunteer training session and then hit the hay. Long day tomorrow… can it be the weekend already, please?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

