Five Things Friday: 03/25/16 Edition

Two Pods, One Cup

{I call this one, “Two Pods, One Cup.” It’s been the kind of morning that demands extra-strong coffee.}

You guys. We are soooooooooo close to the weekend. Can you feel it? (If that song gets stuck in your head, WELCOME TO MY WORLD.)

  1. Currently Reading: No shock here, I’m still on Station Eleven. I did, however, manage to double my progress over the past couple days – I’m now at 30% after having to renew the Kindle book online. So I’m making slow progress, but it’s still progress.
  2. Currently Eating: I’ve been stuck on salmon salads this past week. Last weekend I stopped in at Costco and saw their cans of wild caught salmon on sale – 6 cans for $9.99. Figuring they wouldn’t go bad and I’d have a long time to consume them, I snagged a pack. Later that night, I was at a loss for what to eat for dinner, so I opened up a can of it, dumped it on some butter lettuce mix with some capers, onions, and champagne vinaigrette, and chowed down. It was fantastic, and I’ve been plowing through the cans of salmon ever since. I think I have two cans left… so that’s four cans of salmon that I ate this week, plus one can of tuna, and an entire package of smoked salmon. Something tells me this is not the healthiest way to eat… but I also think it’s probably better than eating pizza for every meal. So.
    Speaking of pizza… I still haven’t gotten my Caliente pizza. I only seem to get called out on disasters during non-pizza hours. 😦
  3. Currently Craving: There are two things that I look forward to every Easter – chocolate peanut butter meltaway eggs, and ham gravy. I am a ham gravy fiend. And yes, I know, most people have never heard of ham gravy, but y’all are missing out. It’s nature’s nectar for mashed potatoes (and ham, obviously). And the chocolate pb meltaway eggs, well, that’s just a no-brainer.
  4. Currently Loving: Ha, so since looking up the Can You Feel It song on YouTube this morning, YouTube has been automatically playing Jackson 5 songs. This day went from hum-drum/cloudy/double-strength-coffee-necessary to MJ Dance Party in about 30 seconds. I just grabbed my bluetooth speaker, paired it with my Surface Pro, and now the entire neighborhood can join in on the fun. I must say, this YouTube playlist is killing it. Wish I could say the same for my dance moves… 😉
    Another strange thing I’m loving is my voice. Death Cold 2016 has turned me into a disgusting ball of phlegm, and I woke up this morning without much of my voice. Since I detest the way my voice sounds, this makes me happy. But even better yet, as my voice gradually returns, the sickness is making my voice sound deep and gravelly. I like to call it my “sexy” voice. Being sick is the closest I’ll ever come to being seductive. 🙂
    Completely unrelated, I saw this story on Facebook and I loved it. What a great idea to have those CPR machines located in airports… wish we had one in the PIT airport!
  5. Currently Anticipating: NO WORK THIS WEEKEND!!!!!!!!! There are not enough exclamation points in the world to convey my excitement. It’s been a rough couple weeks and weekends at both jobs and I’m grateful for an entire weekend without having to think about either one.
    I am, however, on-call for a good portion of this weekend. Still, that’s work I want to do, so I’m cool with it.
    I also have a few hours on Saturday where the on-call schedule was full, so I’m completely free. My mom and I are planning to go shopping, just for something to do, because I can’t seem to spend more than an hour without doing something. I never would have described myself as hyperactive before, but it seems that that’s the best way to describe me these past few months.
    On Sunday I’m on-call until 6am and then “unleashed” for the rest of the day. I’ll be heading to my parents’ house to play with the pups, and then we’re heading to my aunt’s for the traditional ham gravy Easter feast.
    Oh, and something to look forward to on Monday – I’m having lunch with upper management types. No idea why, but a few of us were invited. Free lunch? I’m there.

It was kind of a crappy week, but things are really starting to look up now.  Happy weekend, and Happy Easter to those of you who celebrate it. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Things Friday: 03/25/16 Edition

  1. maryaquino says:

    Love the article. You qualify as one person I’ll click a link for. I think that’s due to a couple of weeks ago when you posted some sort of cute video.

    Anyway, happy weekend! Enjoy the pups. (And the ham gravy, of course…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

