C’mon Get Happy

C'mon Get Happy

I don’t know about everyone else, but I had a pretty darn good day today.

I woke up naturally, and early for once, and had a nice breakfast while coordinating today’s shopping trip with my mom. We went to Ross Park Mall simply because that’s about halfway between their house and mine, and we wanted something to do. We had our usual lunch in the food court, and then headed to McCandless Crossing for some more shopping outside of the mall. I wasn’t really planning on buying anything, but earlier in the morning I’d tried on my shorts from last summer and busted out laughing – they were way too big, even with a belt. So off to Old Navy we went since they were having a BOGO shorts sale.

Turns out I’m down not one or two, but three whole sizes from last summer. Crazy. I also found some cute tanks to wear with my new shorts, so I bought those as well. The damage was way more than I’d initially wanted to pay, but this morning’s pre-shopping fitting experiment proved that the shorts were actually kind of necessary.

After we wandered around a bit more, my mom and I parted ways. She headed home to the pups, and I headed to the McCandless LA Fitness. And dudes. I had no idea there could be such a drastic difference between different LA Fitness centers, but there totally is. The McCandless one is SO MUCH NICER than the two I usually go to. Almost everything was better – the treadmills, the weight machines, the layout, and the locker rooms. Geesh, those locker rooms were amazing compared to the others I’ve seen. The only thing that wasn’t better was the pool – it only had 3 lanes instead of 4 (or 6 at one of my other non-LAF gyms). Luckily, I wasn’t there for the pool; I was there only for the treadmill and the weights today. It was so great to be able to take my time and not worry about getting cleaned up after the gym in order to get to work on time. 🙂

On my way home, I stopped by Phipps Conservatory to take care of the first part of my 16 in ’16 Seasonal Photo Documentary. The picture is above, and what I had in mind is to stop by this same spot every season (so 4 times this year) and take a picture to see how the landscape changes with the changing of the seasons and the weather. This wasn’t 100% the picture I wanted, but I was starving and I had to pee, so it has to be good enough. 😉

I headed home and beelined to the fridge. As I was shoving one of the dolmas leftover from Thursday’s lunch into my mouth, my phone rang… and it was someone from the ARC. I shoved the rest of the dolma in my mouth and headed out to our local chapter. I got to work with a team lead I’ve worked with before, which was cool, and I also got to work with a brand-new trainee. I kind of stole the show and just went to WORK, making sure to explain things to the trainee and show her how to do what I was doing and to ask if she had any questions. Then when we got back into the office, we logged into our online system and I just took over again. As our team leader said, “Geez, I didn’t even need to come in, you had it covered.” Sigh. This is really, truly ALL I WANT TO DO WITH MY TIME. It’s almost frustrating that there aren’t enough fires to keep me doing this all day and all night. I’d rather go out on a call than eat, sleep, or do most anything else. And on my drive home, all I could think was, “I should have been at work, possibly making hundreds of dollars. And yet, I was out in the community doing something without getting paid for it, and it made me 1,000 times happier than tips have ever made me.” So. I think I have some hard thinking to do at some point in the near future…

Anyway, I’m still on-call until 6am, so I should try to get some sleep just in case. 🙂 If only all Saturdays were this fulfilling…

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to C’mon Get Happy

  1. Pingback: Evergreen | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. Pingback: Sneaky, Sneaky | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

