Fancypants

Fancypants

For a day that I was really dreading, today turned out to be kind of good in the end. Sure, I was stuck on a tax call for a good portion of the day (for the record, I do pretty much nothing with taxes. I have no idea why my team and I were on this call), but there were some fun parts to the day to balance it all out.

The first fun thing was lunch with my boss’s boss’s boss at McCormick & Schmick’s. A small group of us were invited to have lunch with our leadership so that we could all get to know one another a little better. It was a fun time, and the food was good – we had appetizers, entrees, coffee, and dessert. By the time I finished my entree – the Seafood Trio – I felt like I’d need to be rolled out of the building. But then I gave in to the peer pressure and got the coffee and chocolate silk cake, and it was all a bit too much for me to handle. I drank the coffee, but took all but one bite of the cake to go. And holy smokes, that cake is dense. It looks light and fluffy like a mousse, but it’s actually pretty solid (and delicious).

Lunch lasted a little over two hours, and since I was highly caffeinated at that point, I got a ton of work stuff done over the next three hours. I barely even registered that it was 5pm and time to go. I wish all afternoons would move that fast!

After work, I walked up to the updated Bruegger’s/Jamba Juice on Grant St for a pre-opening event. I’d been invited to sample some of the new selections before their official opening on Wednesday. I ordered Great Greens juice (cucumber, apple, spinach, kale, lemon, chia seeds) and a Blue Apple Salad (romaine, arugula, grilled chicken, blue cheese, dried cranberries, sliced almond, and diced apple with champagne vinaigrette). The place was rather packed, so when they offered to let me take my stuff to go, I eagerly accepted. Besides, I wasn’t exactly hungry after the monster lunch I had. 😉 I tasted the Great Greens juice while I waited for my salad, and it wasn’t bad. To be honest, it tasted a little watery, but that could have just been the cucumbers in it. Price-wise (had I been paying for it), it was reasonable. I took the salad home, and since it still looks fresh, I plan on having it for lunch tomorrow. I’m pretty excited about it, though; it looks good. And any time I don’t have to pack more leftovers, I get pumped. 🙂

Time to hit the hay – the pool + all the food wore me out today. Hopefully tomorrow will end on an equally high note!

Note: I was invited to the Bruegger’s/Jamba Juice event, but I was not asked to write any sort of review. Also, I did not receive any compensation for attending the event nor for writing this post. All opinions within are mine.
About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

