Runaway Baby

Runaway Baby

We had quite an eventful day!

I headed to my parents’ house this morning and was immediately attacked by vicious kisses (from the pups, not my parents). After a few minutes of playing with the boys, my parents and I headed to brunch. When we returned, there was more playing outside, followed by my dad leaving for work. Once he left, we laced up our sneakers and leashes and headed to a local park for a long walk.

We got back and had some time to kill before heading to my aunt’s house for the infamous ham gravy, so we headed back outside. At one point, Taco was on the lead and Tank was on the deck with me (unchained… it’s a fenced deck), and I noticed a person walking a dog across the street. Taco noticed too, and started straining to get at them. The deck beam that the lead was tied to isn’t the sturdiest, so I tried to reel him in. While I was fighting with Taco, Tank saw his opportunity and somehow got through the fence and made a run for it. Secretly, my mom and I think this was Taco’s plan all along.

My parents live on a rather busy street with a 35 mph speed limit that no one seems to observe. When I was 16, we lost our very first dog (less than a year old) to someone speeding down the road. So when Tank escaped, my blood ran cold and I sprinted to catch him. He made it to the road, heard me yelling after him, and turned around, thinking we were playing. Luckily, he’s a sucker for being rubbed, so he came to me after a few seconds of “dancing.” As soon as he was close enough, I dragged him by his collar to the house and slammed the door with both dogs inside. My mom was inside at the time and never heard any of this, so when she saw me looking livid and Tank trying to kiss my hands to make up to me, she wasn’t sure what had happened. Sigh. That’s the last time I leave either of them unleashed on the deck.

Anyway, we went to my aunt’s, I gorged on ham gravy, and then eventually I headed home. I had the foresight to fill up my gas tank on my way home, which came in handy a few minutes after arriving home. I had gotten in the door, unloaded my stuff from the car, I took the trash out for tomorrow’s pickup and I’d started prepping tomorrow’s meals when I got a text from the ARC. Somehow, I had a feeling that something was going to happen, because what I’d planned to do was first take a shower and then do the garbage/meal prep/etc, but I specifically held off on the shower. Good thing. After missing out on a call on Thursday, I didn’t want to take a chance with this one – I responded with a “1,” or “Yes, I’m available immediately” and then set about getting ready to go. We met at the chapter at around 10:30, and I just got home about a half hour ago.

So now my thoughts have to go from ‘great weekend, so much excitement and awesomeness’ to ‘I have a 6-hour tax call starting at 9am and I have no idea what I’m supposed to say or do.’

Ugh. I know I said this last weekend too, but can we have a do-over? I want more weekend. 😦

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Runaway Baby

  1. maryaquino says:

    I learned once when the dogs (at the time I had 2 greyhounds and was babysitting another) got out the gate…thank you Time Warner for opening it and not closing it…that my best recall with my girl, Coombsy was the word “cookies”. I screamed at the top of my lungs as I saw her taking off down the driveway, “COOMBSY!! COOKIES!!!” to which she stopped, looked at me and came running back to me. The babysitting dog actually was well behaved and when I told him to come, he did. My boy dog at the time decided he would make me pass out chasing him. Yup. I get it.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Ugh, I was so stinkin MAD at him! At BOTH of them! And the stupid person walking down the street with their dog! (How dare they walk down the street!)
      My legs were wobbly when I got them inside. I’ve learned over the past few months that I have a great response time with my fight-or-flight decision-making. 🙂
      And geez, you can probably say anything to Tank to get him back… Treat? Walk? Carrots? Apples? TV? He’d come for all of the above. What a squirmy little chunker.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

