Free Buzz

Free Buzz

Today was not the worst. 🙂

My second meeting this morning was with someone from the ARC who came to meet me at the Starbucks in my work’s lobby. This person does the corporate donation/major gifts stuff, so we chatted for awhile and then got down to business. But before that, we got coffee. The person I was meeting was going to pay for our drinks, but something was going on with the Starbucks credit machines and we ended up getting the drinks for free. We didn’t understand what was going on, though (we thought she needed to try again, but SBX said not to), so we literally just stood there staring at the cashier for a minute or two before moving along. Awkward.

We discussed work stuff and volunteer stuff, and she actually gave me a really great idea for another organization I’d like to learn more about and maybe start volunteering with. And then we discussed the different corporate donation packages and what sort of options might be available. After our meeting, I took the info to someone that works directly with our HR leadership, so fingers crossed that something good will come of it. Even if not, my company still matches my volunteer hours with monetary donations at a rate of $20/hr, up to $1000. That’s at least something!

So the day started off well, and very caffeinated, and it remained that way. I had some good meetings with some customers, got to talk to some friends, got to sort out some additional ARC stuff that I have in the works, and even contacted my car dealership because something has been going on with Smokey ever since his appointment a couple weeks ago. No word yet on if he has to go back to the dealership, but I hope not.

After work, I headed directly to the gym and spent some quality time on the treadmill before hitting up the pool. I still can’t breathe very well, and it doesn’t really bother me until I get underwater. So the past couple weeks, my swimming has suffered. Add onto that an earache (probably swimmer’s ear, which I’ve had a few times before), and I’m really in bad swimming condition these days. 😦

BUT, I powered through and now I’m sitting on my couch watching House of Cards and eating cake. Plus, I might decide to work from home tomorrow and Friday thanks to the construction in the office.

Not a bad way to end the day, right? 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

