Salmon Nuggets

Salmon Nuggets

It’s almost 10pm and I’m still so annoyed with how today’s workday went that I almost forgot to eat dinner. That’s a new thing that’s happening lately, btw – I get distracted or busy and before I know it, I’ve missed a meal. (“Annoyed” fits under “distracted.”) It’s a strange phenomenon that’s never really happened in my life, aside from the last couple months. Weird.

Anyway, when I got in the car this morning, the first song I heard was DMX screaming “Y’all gon’ make me lose my mind… up in here, up in here,” and unfortunately that was all the forewarning I needed in order to realize I was in for a doozy of a day. It’s literally like everyone and everything lost their dang minds overnight and needed me to pull their heads out of their bums for them. I don’t think I’ve had such a ridiculous day in this “new” position (can I still say that, 9 months in?). And to make matters worse, I’ve gotten an unbelievable amount of disaster texts during the past two work days, so all the awesome stuff is happening while I’m at work and I can’t escape. It’s like all this craziness is happening at work and I can’t stop people from shooting themselves in the proverbial foot, but I could help other people move on with their lives after a disaster if only I could leave. But I can’t. It’s so frustrating. When the clock hit 5:40 and I was still sitting at my computer with my mouth hanging open in disbelief of all the stupidity happening, I was jolted by the realization that I had a volleyball game in 20 minutes. Whoops.

Luckily, after I woke up from my haze during our first game, volleyball put me in a much better frame of mind. Still, I’m just so annoyed that I feel so useless and powerless. If I could just escape for 3 hours or so, I could do something good and maybe feel better about life. It wouldn’t help the insanity going on in emails and meetings, but it would certainly make me feel better. This annoyance is translating itself into uneasiness, which is quickly becoming anxiety. Blergh.

Since I wasn’t hungry after volleyball, I decided to eat up some of the smaller things in my fridge. I also wanted something that wasn’t boring, and I needed something to occupy me for a little while. Enter bite-sized salmon “nuggets.” I had a couple slices of smoked salmon left, a cucumber, some Greek yogurt, a teensy bit of cream cheese, and capers. Together, they made dinner. I peeled and sliced the cucumber, sliced the salmon and put it on the cukes, then made a mix of about 1 tbsp cream cheese + ~ 1/4 c plain Greek yogurt + dill + honey mustard. A dollop of the yogurt mixture was topped with a caper, and dinner was served. One of the best things about this is that it took me a super long time to eat. Granted, I was distracted and doing a bunch of other things while eating, but these little nuggets took me about 45 minutes to eat… which meant that they actually filled me up.

I’m probably going to end up drowning my uneasy sorrows in a bowl of Smacks before I fall asleep, but I can at least take comfort in the fact that there’s only one more day of the ridiculousness left this week. Come on, Friday!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

