Moment Of Zen

Moment Of Zen

I had approximately six minutes of peace today, which was actually six minutes more than yesterday. My meetings started while I was still on the bus in the morning, and continued nonstop through noon. A little after noon, I had a chance to go grab lunch from the Bistro and check my emails… and for the first time since Saturday morning, I didn’t regret the decision to check my inbox. Finally, I got schedule confirmation on one of the things I’ve been waiting on. I felt like I should have thrown a party when I saw that email.

Side note: yesterday, when I went out on the call in the evening, I didn’t even have to say what was bugging me – the lead knew just from the look on my face. Apparently I’m not alone in this; it’s been the topic of lots of conversations lately. And the lead knew exactly how it’s making me feel, which actually made me feel better. I was reassured that what I’m experiencing is normal, and that it seems to be a right of passage once you get to a certain point. I was also reassured that what I think is happening is not actually happening, and that all is actually going really well with me in particular. So. Again, cryptic, but for good reason. The highlight is this: I feel better. Not great, but better. It really helped a ton just to talk about it in broad terms with someone who’s already gone through it.

Anyway, back on track here… after I took a few bites of my lunch salad, I had to do some stuff before my afternoon calls started. From 12:30 until 4, I was booked solid, and I was informed that my presence is being requested onsite with a customer in May. Nevermind that this particular type of extended stay is out of scope for my job; I was requested specifically by name. That should make me feel good, but it really doesn’t. I’d rather stick around here and go on disaster calls… but instead I might be spending a week or two (or three, if they really get their way) in NYC.  I’d better get a Cronut out of this deal if I go.

After work, I somehow avoided all the Clinton (Chelsea), Cruz, Trump, Pirates, and Pens Playoff traffic and made my way to the gym. I cut the workout a little short today because I hadn’t even started thinking about what to pack for my trip. I need to be at the airport by 5am, and I’m a hot mess right now. I spent the rest of the night trying to pack, checking in on emails, and trying to figure out my schedule for the rest of April. My birthday, in particular, is looking like a disaster (pun sort of intended)… I have a one-on-one training class in the morning, and then a group training class in the afternoon. This means I’ve requested off of work for the night, but due to the timing of the trainings, I’m not able to be on-call. So I’m basically going to spend my entire morning and afternoon at the ARC office and then be all alone in the evening, with no hope of anyone calling me out to a call. AND my favorite gym is closed that day as well. Blergh.

So yeah. Lots of things to “look forward” to when I get back from vacation… but at least I can try not to think of all the things over the next few days. If I can find a way to ignore the anxious feeling in my stomach, I might be in okay shape… at least, hopefully I will be once I set eyes on a swim-up bar!

Oy vey. Get me out of here. Now.

Editorial Note: Due to vacation and my impending absence of sobriety (and probable lack of access to reliable wifi), Five Things Friday is on hiatus until 4/22. 🙂 Assuming I have sporadic access to internet, regular posting will continue; likely with pictures of pools, sand, water, and fruity drinks. Don’t hate, appreciate. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

