Windfall

Windfall

Today went a bit better than yesterday, thank goodness, but it was pull-my-hair-out busy. That’s fine, though, because the day flew by at warp speed.

I finally had a chance to get through some emails, and I found a bunch of birthday offers that are good now through the end of the month. That was super-lucky because I didn’t have much available in terms of lunch, so I grabbed my Au Bon Pain birthday offer and cashed in. I got a harvest turkey salad and an asiago breadstick, which was much tastier than the months-old freezer quiche I’d brought with me to work. Free lunch always signals a good day. 🙂

While I was at the gym, my dad called and told me that he’ll be around tomorrow morning (while I’m at work) to check out the lawn mower… so things are progressing there. Hopefully he’ll be able to get it to start, and then I can chop down the jungle in my yard before it gets dark tomorrow.

Back to today, though, I saw a big box waiting for me in front of my door when I pulled up to the house this evening. I’d nearly forgotten that I had a work anniversary gift coming to me! There was a website full of things to choose from for my 3-year anniversary (back in January), but recent forays into bagel-making have rendered my existing bread maker nearly unusable, so I opted for a new one over jewelry, a fire pit, or a meat smoker. It was a tough call to make, especially with the meat smoker in the mix… but hopefully I’ll get a lot of use out of the bread maker. In any case, I have another anniversary gift coming to me in the next year and 8 months, so I can get the meat smoker then. Between the free lunch and the free bread maker, I almost feel like I won the lottery today. 🙂

Not making me feel so lucky is the fact that all the travel seems to have caught up to me today. I’ve felt completely wiped out since about 11 am, so I’m trying to make it an early night. For once, I hope we don’t have a disaster call within the next three hours… but if we do, I’m sure it’ll be worth it to go! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Windfall

  1. maryaquino says:

    You must get to pick from the same catalog we do. Our other option is to donate to the nonprofit of our choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

