Donuts Of Panic

Donuts Of Panic

“There are donuts on your stove.”

That right there is the one sentence that induced panic into my little heart this morning. Donuts, of all things. On my stove.

I knew my dad was planning to come to my house while I was at work, so I expected to hear from him. What I hadn’t planned for was him going inside the house; I thought he’d be outside with the lawnmower. Guess I was wrong.

One thing you should know about me is that I am just about the worst housekeeper ever. I have way too many other things going on in my life to worry about putting everything away and sweeping the floors; I usually pick a day a couple times a month and do all my cleaning then. The rest of the time it’s complete chaos, and that’s fine because it works for me. No one else comes in my house and no one else needs to deal with it, so whatever. Well, since we were gone for most of last week, and since things have been nutters over here with the volunteer stuff, volleyball, work, and more work, the house is in shambles at the moment. So getting the text saying “There are donuts on your stove” made my heart nearly stop. If I’d known he was going to go inside the house, I would’ve at least done some spot-cleaning.

The next text, predictably, was “Your mother would freak if she saw this kitchen.” Sigh.

Anyway, he was able to get the mower started without a hitch; no disassembly required. He said the only thing it needed was some starter fluid because of the winter. Huh. Well, that’s a lot faster and easier than me trying to Google how to disassemble a lawn mower to clean the carburetor.

The rest of the day went off with nary a hitch. It’s like once the mower was fixed, everything else jumped into place, even work meetings.

After work, instead of going to the gym as planned, I went home to test out the mower and my weedwacker. They both run like new (which is good since they practically are). I was able to mow the entire yard and weedwack the entire bank and around the house within about an hour, which might be a record for me. I am no longer the scourge of the street, and all is good in the neighborhood.

Plus, there are donuts on the stove. Just waiting to be popped into my mouth. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Donuts Of Panic

  1. Nicole says:

    That’s funny – our mower wouldn’t start either and a friend’s son came over to take a look and it turned out all we needed was starter fluid! All better now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

