You Can’t, You Won’t, And You Don’t Stop

You Can't, You Won't, And You Don't Stop

This has really just been a pretty horrible week, but luckily each day has been better than the last. Like every day this week, I was booked solid all day… but my 11am call was canceled at the last minute, so I ran to Jimmy John’s to take advantage of their $1 subs deal today. I stood in line for nearly an hour, but since I didn’t bring anything else for lunch, it was worth it. I got a Vito with hot peppers and it was delicious. It was especially awesome because it kept me full through the entire afternoon.

I had to leave right at 5 today in order to take the bus to my car and then drive back into town. We had a volunteer meeting at 6, so I had to bust tail. I made it, though, and with a few minutes to spare. I love these meetings, so I made it a point to stick around as long as I could. It was nice to see some people I don’t get to see all that often… and it sounds like there’s going to be a small group of us spending all day at the chapter on Saturday. After we went over the monthly stats, we had our government liaison discussing an upcoming nuclear power plant exercise, which is how we came to discuss particle physics. There was an in-depth conversation about how radiation affects the body and what kind of materials the different types of radiation can get through. It was interesting, but man, it made me feel kind of dumb. Unfortunately, I had to leave the meeting early, as we were talking about decontamination, so I may never know how to decontaminate someone…

I had to leave early because of volleyball, but as it turns out, I probably could have skipped tonight – we had the entire team show up. Still, it was a good time, but I wish the game would’ve been at 9 instead of 8 so that I could’ve stayed for the entire volunteer meeting.

And now I’m enjoying my last hour of “freedom” before I’m on call or working for much of the weekend. I think my next free hour will be Saturday at 5 or so… but hopefully I’ll be doing lots of fun things to fill my time before then.

Better get as much sleep as I can, just in case I get called out to a fire tonight!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

