Five Things Friday: 04/22/16 Edition

(I know, I know, no lectures, please. There was literally no one on the road when I took the picture. I’m only a danger to myself, and I’m okay with that.)

“Clairvoyant.”

That’s the word a friend/fellow volunteer I lovingly call “Dude” used to describe me this morning. Yes, this morning. At like 4 am.

As it turns out, I couldn’t make myself fall asleep last night. Usually when I’m on-call overnight, I just sleep through it and expect that my phone will wake me up if someone needs to get in touch with me. Until last night/this morning, that’s never happened; I’ve never been called. Last night, though, I couldn’t get comfortable. I just had a “feeling” that I was going to get a phone call. Sure enough, at 3:23 am, my phone rang. I was wide awake, so I answered with a cheerful “Duuuuuude!” much to the surprise of the person on the other end. “Weren’t you sleeping?” he asked. “Sleep is for suckers,” I responded. I stand by that statement. Sleep IS for suckers.

So out we went to respond to a fire. It took some time to get everything sorted out, but in the end I got a hug from a very grateful client. Dude did not get a hug, but Dude was okay with that. 🙂 On my way home at around 6:15, I got to see the city waking up. I’m hardly ever coherent at that hour, so it was interesting to see the sky change colors in front of my eyes. The picture doesn’t really demonstrate that very well, but give me a break – I was kind of tired.

I have noticed that I do seem to get that strange, uneasy feeling within a few hours of getting called out to a fire, though… maybe it is clairvoyance? I don’t know, but it actually seems to come in handy. It’s not a perfect science, but it’s better than nothing – it’s nice to have an internal advance warning system. 🙂

  1. Currently Reading: It’s actually been a rather productive two weeks, book-wise. While on vacation, I read Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling. I cruised through it super-fast, and it was a very easy read; I like her style.
    After finishing Why Not Me? at the pool, I moved straight to Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell. I really like her writing style as well, and Eleanor & Park is proving to be a fun, fast read. I’m currently sitting at about 55% done, but I’ve been looking forward to reading it every night.
  2. Currently Eating: Had I been writing this at 3:30 this morning, I would have to write “whoever’s leftover pizza is in the fridge in the volunteer office.” But it’s not 3:30am, and though I very seriously considered taking a slice for the road, I decided against it. I feel like nothing good can come from random public leftover pizza at 3:30 in the morning.
    I did make life easier for myself this morning by defrosting a slice of sausage/egg white/potato casserole yesterday. I’d planned on eating it for lunch today, but breakfast seemed like the better option since I’m operating on zero hours of sleep right now.
    Otherwise, I have a lot of free entree offers and the like that I need to use up over the next week or so. Plus, there’s a rumor of “a ton of food” being delivered to the volunteer office tomorrow, and my parents are likely stopping by at some point to take me to eat. So there will be a lot of eating (and maybe even some drinking!) going on over the next week. Thank goodness, cause I feel like my ability to fend for myself has all but disappeared with this week’s insane schedule.
  3. Currently Craving: This is going to sound dumb, but I’m craving the gym. I’m used to going 6 days a week, for an average of 2 hours at a time… but this week was just a disaster and I only made it there once. Monday I hurt my shoulder trying to get the lawnmower to start, Tuesday was my only gym day, Wednesday was spent mowing and weedwacking, and then yesterday was volunteer stuff + volleyball. I’m tentatively hopeful that I’ll get to go tonight, but I have that funky little feeling in the pit of my stomach that I’m going to be spending at least part of the evening at the volunteer office. Who knows, though, maybe as my 6pm shift draws nearer, the feeling will go away.
    Food-wise, I’m not really craving much. I kind of sort of promised a fellow volunteer that I’d bring Heath Bar Blondies to the office tomorrow, but I’m on the fence about them now. If I do make them, I’ll have to make them before 6 – otherwise, I’ll definitely get called out and the blondies won’t be done (that’s just science). And they do sound good… but I’m feeling pretty lazy at the moment. And tired. Lazy and tired = less likelihood of blondies.
  4. Currently Loving: Uhhh… can I get back to you on that? I guess I’m loving that it’s Friday, but this whole weekend is shaping up to be jam-packed, just like the entire week was. I’ve had no time for finding cute dog videos on the internet, or inspiring stories… the one super-cute thing I saw this week was a picture of a coworker’s dog. The dog, a Boston Terrier, was snuggled up on the bed under the covers with his head on my coworker’s pillow and it was captioned, “4pm… this is what I see. Dog for sure has a drug problem or something.” It was a freaking adorable picture, and the caption was perfect. But alas, I don’t feel comfortable sharing other people’s FB pictures on the internet. Just try to imagine it. It’s cute, I promise. 🙂
  5. Currently Anticipating: I’ve given up on trying to figure certain things out, and I’m now following the “go with the flow” path. That means that I have no idea what’s really happening this weekend, but I’m sure it’ll be fine. I’m on-call starting at 6pm tonight until 6am tomorrow, and then I have two volunteer training sessions tomorrow that should last pretty much all day. I’m excited about them because a) one of the training sessions is regarding my promotion and b) I love these people and I can’t think of better people with whom I’d rather spend a Saturday, aside from maybe my parents. However, I’m a little nervous because I’ve heard that the session I missed last weekend did not go so well. The last thing I want tomorrow is frustration – from me, or from anyone else. Let me have one day that’s crazy-free, okay?
    My parents are coming to take me out either Saturday night or Sunday morning; I’m not sure which. Personally, I’d rather go for dinner than breakfast, but my dad works the afternoon shift this weekend, so dinner would just be me and my mom. That’s cool, but also I’m probably going to be pretty pooped by Saturday evening. So we’ll see.
    I’m on-call for the rest of the time Saturday, until noon on Sunday.
    Sunday I actually have to work a wedding, which was unexpected. It’s fine, and my only other plans were being on-call, but I was secretly hoping for the entire weekend off from work.
    Sunday night, I’m on call overnight again. I wasn’t kidding when I said this was a crazy weekend.
    One thing that’s coming up that I can sort of look forward to is that I’m almost definitely going to be in NYC for a week the first week of May. Last night I researched some restaurants around the building I’m going to be in, and I got a little excited. Within a mile or so of my “home base,” there are tons of restaurants I’ve wanted to visit. I’ve already let the team know that a) I’m coming hungry, and I plan on eating my way through their city and b) I gosh darn better get a freaking Cronut on this trip, or I’m protesting. Considering Dominique Ansel’s bakery is 0.4 miles away from the office, outlook is sunny.
    Oh, and I nearly forgot – I start another volunteer opportunity on Tuesday! Something that doesn’t require other people suffering in order for me to be happy. 🙂 Stay tuned.

That’s about it. I wish I could say I’m off to take a nap, but nope. Lots of meetings all day again today. Only a few more hours of this work until I’m done for the weekend, though. Hallelujah.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Things Friday: 04/22/16 Edition

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Oh man….go to Alex Guarnachelli’s restaurant Butter in NYC. I could live vicariously through you. I think it’s a steakhouse and well…I’m kinda a vegetarian but I really love her…she’s an awesome chef. Yeah. Okay. I’m going to Bethesda next Thursday night for the weekend. I am looking forward to it, even tho it might sound like I’m not.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Never been to Bethesda, although I may have driven through it once or twice. Have fun!

      I’m curious to see what’s going to happen with the NYC week. Part of my negotiations for going there was “go to awesome restaurants,” and I have a long list of like 25 places I want to go to. Considering breakfasts and lunches will likely be onsite with the customer, and at least one dinner will likely be with them, I might only get to go to 4 or 5 places. I’m trying to finagle it so that I go on Sunday, though, and get a “free” day out of the deal. So who knows where I’ll end up. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • maryaquino says:

        Well, you are more likely to eat in NYC than I ever am. So, keep that in mind. Butter. Alex Guarneschelli (I can’t remember how to spell her name) is the Executive Chef.

        I’m actually going to M3. I’m a concert junkie, child of the 80s so I’m going to see Night Ranger and Tesla at Merriweather Music Pavillion. My concert companion lives in Bethesda.

        Like

Leave a Reply

