Movin’ On Up

Movin' On Up

Today was a crazy whirlwind, but a good kind of crazy.

I wasn’t called out at all last night, which ended up being a good thing since I desperately needed some sleep. Still, I woke up crazy early (for me) and I wasn’t able to get back to sleep… so I was more than ready to go to my training classes when the time came.

The morning training session was to cover the requirements for my volunteer promotion. I was there with two other people who were being promoted, three more senior volunteers (as though we were paired up, sort of), our supervisor (of sorts), and her manager. We covered a lot of things and we got our “go bags,” which contain a lot of information and tools for us to lead our teams. I also got a key fob to the place, so no more entering secret keypad codes for me! It was a nice, informal, and informative session, and we had fun.

We had about a half hour between the morning class and the afternoon Disaster Assessment leadership class, so the four of us who were there all day walked to the 26th St Market for something to eat. We mostly got the same thing – we have some sort of strange pack mentality thing going on. Our lunch was a spinach salad with avocado, pears, dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, and cucumbers. It was actually pretty tasty, and oddly filling. For $5, it was a good deal.

The afternoon Disaster Assessment class was interesting, but I started to become unfocused after the first two hours. I’m glad I took it, and I learned a lot (and have a lot more information to include in my go bag now), but I was ready to go when the class let out.

I stuck around for a few minutes to chat with another volunteer, and then I made the snap decision to go hang with my pups. I missed them. And obviously, they missed me.

Tank clearly has no idea how big he is. He just wiggled his way into my lap and plopped down. Taco, standing to the side and not pictured, was not impressed. He made sure to give his best effort to get up there with both of us, but as soon as my mom whipped out her phone to take a picture, he was gone in a flash. (Pun intended. Ha.)

My dad was working afternoon and then we found out he was being forced to double midnight, so I didn’t get to see him, but he facetimed us. 🙂

My mom and I went for dinner at a place called Burgh’ers in Zelienople, and it was pretty fantastic. Afterwards, we got ice cream. It was a nice little night. 🙂

I’m on call overnight, and I’m actually a little nervous – it’s my first night in the new position, so if I get called, it’ll be from our operations center in Philly, or from a local 911 center instead of one of our own team leaders. Now I’ll be the one calling people at 3:30am. Yikes.

Better make sure my ringer is up nice and loud tonight! Eek!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movin’ On Up

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

