Stock Girl

Stock Girl

Thank goodness, there were no random phone calls overnight, nor this morning. This morning, I was somewhat-prepared… last night, I was not. That said, I took some time this morning and afternoon to better familiarize myself with the contents of my new volunteer Go Bag. One of the things that was included was this little checklist of things that might come in handy, so I went on a little disaster preparedness shopping spree after breakfast.

I grabbed hand sanitizer that clips onto the bag, Kleenex, two Maglite flashlights, and some snacks. A girl’s always gotta have her snacks, ya know?

I was only on-call until noon, and then I had a couple hours free before heading to work. Ironically, after I was off-duty, I received a phone call from a leader wanting to discuss some things. He said he’d been checking the schedule (funny since I was off-duty at that point), and that we’d be working together during the week. He also congratulated me. 🙂 I wasn’t sure what the point of his call was, but I slowly came to realize that he was passing on all of his experience to me via phone. We spent about 45 minutes together – he talked while I took notes. Towards the end of the call, I was grateful for his knowledge and appreciative of his call – he had no reason to reach out like that, but he felt it necessary to give me all the info he’s learned over the years. That’s pretty darn cool. I felt like a jerk for originally thinking, “yo, I’m off-duty, why is he calling me now?” I need to take a chill pill.

I’ve also gotten some emails from other leaders with congrats, words of encouragement, and offers for me to call them any time of the day or night if I get stuck or need someone to call. Seriously. There are no words to describe how amazing these people are, and I’m so lucky I get to work with them.

Speaking of work, that’s where I’m off to. And pretty much as soon as I’m done bartending, I’m back on-call… but at least tonight I’ll be better prepared thanks to the phone call earlier today. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stock Girl

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    I want your energy mojo…….and your snacks

    Like

Leave a Reply

