Book Worm

Book Worm

I just love the library, don’t you? Over the years I’ve saved probably thousands of dollars by going there instead of buying books or DVDs. I’ve even saved money by borrowing CDs to see if I liked albums before purchasing them. I owe the library a lot, which is why I decided to become a volunteer for the Carnegie Library.

I met with the volunteer coordinator today to discuss what I can do, and we decided that I’ll be part of the LOCAL team. LOCAL stands for Library Outreach and Community Advocacy Leaders, and basically what I’ll be doing is volunteering for events to get the word out about the services the library has, get people back into the library (hint: have overdue book fines from 1987 and you’re afraid to show your face in the library? Don’t be scurred!), and to get more people going to the libraries in general. I wasn’t quite sure what the team was all about until I met with the coordinator, but after discussing, it sounds great. They ask for a minimum of 5 volunteer hours/month (which seems super-attainable), but they’re flexible… and when I mentioned the two jobs + Red Cross volunteer work I do, it didn’t sound like they’d have any issue with my involvement being below 5 hours if the stars don’t align in any given month.

Unfortunately, I’m going to miss my first team meeting because I’ll be in NYC, but I’m excited to see what kind of events I’ll have to choose from. The coordinator mentioned she sends out the events via email the day after the meeting, so I won’t be missing much (but she also mentioned there’ll be cake at the meeting this month, so I’ll be missing that. Boooo).

So far, even though my free time seems to be dwindling at an alarming rate, I think I’ll be able to keep up the ARC stuff + the library stuff. And I have some plans in motion for volunteering with one or two other organizations in the Pittsburgh area, so hopefully I’ll be able to do ALL OF THE THINGS. I wish there was a way to get paid my current salary (or more, obviously), but to go around doing different “volunteer” projects… granted, at that point, they wouldn’t be considered voluntary anymore, but how cool would it be to spend my days rebuilding houses for people who’ve lost everything and serving food to the homeless, and then spend my nights going to disasters and library events? Sigh. A girl can dream. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Worm

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    I like that idea….maybe being paid by a private foundation to volunteer for many organizations….I would still consider it volunteering. It would be like being independently wealthy and volunteering. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

