Celebration Mex

Celebration Mex

Aww yeah, burritos and margaritas in the house!

My friend Tony and I ventured out to Mad Mex after our volleyball game tonight in order to catch up, use one of my remaining birthday offers, and celebrate our win tonight. As of tonight, we’re tied for first place in our league, though technically, the team we’re tied with took 2 of 3 games from us… so if you look at it that way, we’re in 2nd place; just with the same record. But still, that’s a strong season, and we had a great night tonight!

So yeah, we celebrated with some burritos and margaritas. I went seasonal for both my drink and my dinner – I got the orange pineapple margarita on the rocks (“This doesn’t even taste like it has alcohol in it,” I slurred) and the grilled chicken and asparagus burrito. Both were good, but I think I was most surprised by the burrito. It included both asparagus and peas, and we all know how I’ve historically felt about peas… but it was actually really good. It helped that the peas were crunchy and not at all mushy. A heck of a lot of cheese (monterey jack and goat) helped, too. 🙂

We spent a few hours hanging out and catching up while stealing glances at the Pens game on TV. Eventually, though, I had to leave to get ready for my overnight on-call shift. Going back to what I said on Monday, sometimes it feels really good to not be responsible for a few hours. Between volleyball and dinner, I feel ready to jump back into the grind for one more work day and a weekend full of action.

Happy almost-Friday, friends. It couldn’t have come soon enough.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebration Mex

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    Look at those hulking arms again.

    Can you believe almost immediately after I headed home, someone in a white SUV cut me off on Route 22 and came within feet of totally demolishing my new car? If I wouldn’t have slammed on my brakes, there is no doubt there would have been an accident. And when I slammed on the brakes, my bowling ball sitting in the back seat slammed into the driver’s seat and took my burrito with it. Thankfully, the burrito remained in the container and didn’t stain the rugs.

    All’s well that end’s well, I suppose.

    Thanks again for inviting me to hang out. It was one more fun and relaxing evenings I’ve had in a while.

    Adios!

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Whoa, that’s crazy! People drive like idiots on 22; getting onto it from that plaza is one of my most hated things about going to the LAF there. I’ve almost been in countless accidents, just on that little stretch between Miracle Mile and the onramp to the parkway.

      Glad you managed to avoid getting hit, though!

      Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Thanks. I can see why you’ve had your problems on that stretch. Wow. I was in the left lane, and this person was in the right lane, next to me. They decided they were going to switch lanes, and didn’t seem to care that I was right beside them. We were literally seconds away from their driver’s side and my passenger side being totally destroyed if I wouldn’t have stopped. And the funny part (now) was that when my bowling ball smacked into the back of my seat, I thought I was rear-ended.

        As for my burrito, it’s still alive and well and will be used for my post-work snack this evening. 🙂

        Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Also, RIP, burrito. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

