The Big Pizza

The Big Pizza

They should really rename NYC “The Big Pizza” instead of The Big Apple. I walked for probably 10 hours straight, and I don’t think I saw a single apple. I saw (and ate) a buttload of pizza, though.

Obviously, I made it to NYC! I left my house around 8am, avoided all of the Pgh Marathon traffic (but got to see runners crossing the Birmingham Bridge while I drove, which was really cool!), and made it to NYC at around noon.

I took my first Uber ride, which coincidentally happened to be my first UberPool ride. I managed to get into SoHo from LGA for $22, which was actually a really good deal, plus I didn’t have to deal with schlepping my luggage on the subway. I’m an Uber convert, at least when someone else is paying for it!

My first stop after checking into my hotel was Jacques Torres. I’ve wanted to go to Jacques Torres for years, but since I’m usually only in NYC for like 12 hours at a time, tops, I’ve never had the chance to go. Lucky for me, the store is literally around the corner from my hotel, practically in the same building. This is going to be dangerous. I spent some time chatting up the super-friendly employees while I sipped my hot chocolate and ate my ginormous cookie, and then set out on my way.

I have a ridiculous list of places I want to eat in NYC, so figuring out where to go is kind of difficult. I decided to wander and see where my feet took me. My #1 priority was a cronut at Dominique Ansel, but they were sold out by the time I got there. If I wake up early enough, I’m going to try again tomorrow, but I have a feeling I’m going to be out of luck on the cronut front.

From the bakery, I walked through Chinatown, through Little Italy, got a slice of pizza at Prince St Pizza, visited 30 Rock, St Patrick’s Cathedral, and Times Square. It started raining pretty hard, and I’d picked up some gifts along the way (Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are both coming up soon!), so I bought a subway card and made my way back to the hotel. I dropped my stuff, charged my phone for a hot minute, and then went back out.

Another place that was very high on my must-visit list was Momofuku Noodle Bar. I’m a David Chang fangirl, so I had to give it a shot. Lucky for me, the one advantage to traveling solo is that even when there’s an hour-long wait, I usually only have to wait a couple minutes and then I can sit at a counter or a bar. That was the case at Momofuku – the party of 2 in front of me was told at least an hour wait, but I only had to wait about 10 minutes. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a crowded restaurant before – Noodle Bar was bumpin! I ordered a small spicy lychee slushie and the pork shank ramen, and both were delicious.

Afterwards, another must-see place was on the way back to the subway – Milk Bar. I’m also a Christina Tosi fangirl. (I think it’s probably safe to say that I’m just a foodie fangirl, no?) I wanted to get ALL THE THINGS, and lucky for me, when I walked in and saw the chalkboard, I saw that they have a little “bundle” package called “Greatest Hits.” The Greatest Hits included cereal milk soft serve, a compost cookie, a slice of crack pie, and a 3-pack of birthday truffles. Sign. Me. Up. I ate the cereal milk soft serve right away, and the rest is sitting in my mini fridge. I’m going to be so sugared up this week!

And finally, as if the cookie, hot chocolate, pizza, ramen, and ice cream weren’t enough, I made my way into Brooklyn to Paulie Gee’s to snag a full pie. I ordered the Hellboy, which appears to be the inspiration for The Greenpointer at one of my favorite Pgh places, Pizza Taglio. As expected, the Hellboy was fantastic, and I snagged a bottle of Mike’s Hot Honey to take home. I’m already looking forward to the things I can do with it!

Alas, eventually it was time to head to the hotel and get ready for tomorrow. I have no idea what to expect from tomorrow since it’s not at all a typical work situation, but at least I can hope for some good eats! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Big Pizza

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Okay, I could have done a “walking around Bethesda and a lot of DC” post if I had brought my pc with me on my trip….

    You must explain what Mike’s Hot Honey is. Yes, I know…google and I probably will. My brain is still on an airplane and I didn’t even cross a time zone. Imagine me when I go and come back from Denver next month….

    Jacques Torres. Wow. Good first choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

