Hello, Darling

Hello, Darling

Welp, my job here is done!

Just kidding, but today went really well. I started my morning standing in line with about 70 other people in order to get a famous Cronut at Dominique Ansel Bakery. There’s a new cronut flavor every month, and May’s flavor is rhubarb jam with brown sugar. I wish I’d been around for April (think: Nutella), but the rhubarb wasn’t bad – and this is coming from someone who doesn’t like rhubarb. I got there about 45 minutes before the joint opened, so I was somewhere around #25 in line. I’m glad I went early and got one, but I feel no need to go back to get another.

Our work session was lonnnnnng, but it went really well. It helps things along when you really like the people you’re working with, and when they like you, so at least we had that going for us. It was a nice cooperative effort by both teams, and we got a lot accomplished. Still, there’s lots more to be done the rest of the week.

After work, I ventured out with a coworker to a place I’ve dreamed of going to for so long – Nobu. We started off with Oni Negronis, which were RIDICULOUS. One of the best cocktails I’ve ever had, easily, but I’d expect nothing less for $17/drink.

image2

Mike (coworker) and I decided to share apps and entrees. He ordered a tuna and avocado roll for an app, and I got the eel with avocado roll. We split them 50/50, and they were tasty.

image3

For our entrees, he ordered the shrimp and lobster dish, and I ordered the black cod with miso. Yes, eagle-eyed readers, that’s what I ordered just last week at Soba… Soba’s version is their take on this Nobu classic. As you might imagine, it was fantastic. The shrimp and lobster dish was delicious as well, but I didn’t realize there were mushrooms all over it. The shrimp and lobster were good, though, once I picked off the shrooms.

FullSizeRender

image4

Our dinner was wicked expensive (thank goodness for expense accounts!), but we were still hungry after dinner. Obviously ice cream was in order, so we Ubered our way to Ample Hills Creamery within Gotham Market. Holy smokes, this ice cream was fantastic. I got a small with Ooey Gooey Butter Cake and The Munchies. My gosh, The Munchies. I don’t have words for it. Amazing.

image5

We walked around while eating our ice cream, and ended up at Times Square (which always feels like a mistake – too many people!)…

IMG_7278

And then I chased my fancy schmancy dinner at Nobu with my very first (and likely last) dirty water hot dog.

image6

(I told Mike, “make it look provocative and dirty.” We failed.)

Eventually, we made our way back to the hotel, and now I’m getting ready for another exciting day.

For as much as I didn’t want to come here (I’d rather be volunteering, and I hate taking time away from it now), I sure am determined to make the most of this trip! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello, Darling

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. Pingback: Big Fish | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  3. Amy says:

    Yay for snagging a cronut! FYI, if you want to have a cronut on the regular, Dunkin’ Donuts sell them now, and in a similar fashion to Ansel, there’s a different featured flavor each month. April was strawberry shortcake, May is blueberry crumble. I’m sure they’re not AS good, but cheaper and more readily available once the craving strikes. Enjoy! 🙂

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Yeah, I’ve had the DD version once before, but wasn’t totally enthralled. Probably because I’m not over-the-moon about donuts to begin with. The DA one was good, and more croissant-y than the DD one (and “sturdier,” if that makes sense), but I probably won’t break out into spontaneous cravings for them. If I do, though, I agree – the DD ones are good enough. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

