Bearded Burger

Bearded Burger

It feels like I’ve been in NYC like 12 days instead of 3, but here we are only on day 2 of 4 working days.

Today started out as a doozy, work-wise. It was non-stop insanity until about 1; at that point, I had to step out to join a call with another customer. Luckily, when I came back around 2:30, the chaos had settled a bit and the afternoon went smoother than the morning. But all day long, my day looked like this: internet connectivity issues + 5 people vying for my attention at any given moment (in person) + 6 people pinging me with work questions online… all at once. It was a productive day, but I was glad when we were set free for the evening.

I’ve wanted to go to The Spotted Pig since I read about April Bloomfield’s Michelin-starred restaurant since I saw her on The Mind of a Chef, and this was the perfect opportunity. Mike and I headed to the Village and put our name in, and then wandered around looking for a bar where we could pass the time of our 45-minute wait. We ended up super close-by, at The Left Bank. We scored a drink apiece and settled in to relay stories of our day to each other.

Before we knew it, our table was ready at The Spotted Pig. We were sat at a cozy little table upstairs and given ample time to browse the menu. I, of course, knew what I wanted immediately; Mike took some time. In the end, we ended up with the same thing – old fashioneds for drinks, pot of pickles + chicken liver toast for apps, and then we each ordered the chargrilled burger.

Between our cocktails at The Left Bank + our old fashioneds at The Spotted Pig, we were feeling pretty good. Both were strong and delicious (and expensive). The chicken liver toast came first, but it came served with a deviled egg. We pointed out the error to our server – we ordered the pot of pickles and not the egg – and we were instructed to enjoy the egg on the house and our pickles followed shortly thereafter. Neither of us seems to be a big egg yolk fan, but we both tried it and we were both really surprised – the yolks were more mustard-y than anything else, and they were actually really good. We had no trouble finishing off the egg. I admit I expected more of a pate for the chicken liver toast, but what we got was tasty. It was chunkier than I’d envisioned, but it still tasted heavenly. The pickled veggies were good as well.

But man, that burger. I understand why she received the Michelin star for it; it was incredible. Not just the burger, either, but the shoestring fries with garlic and rosemary were just ridiculous. We were both very very happy with our meals. We very much “get” why The Spotted Pig just won a James Beard Foundation Award last night; our experience was fantastic.

After dinner, we needed something sweet, so we Ubered over to Mikey Likes It Ice Cream. I ordered the Southern Hospitality Mac Daddy, which was pecan ice cream with chunks of pecan pie, sandwiched in a waffle. Mike got the Truffle Shuffle Mac Daddy. We both had our eyes rolling into the backs of our heads in ice-cream-and-waffle pleasure.

We ended up walking back to the hotel, which means we got in late. But we don’t have to leave the hotel for work until 8:30 tomorrow morning, so at least we can sleep in a little. 🙂

One more full day and night plus one half day, and then it’s back to reality for me!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bearded Burger

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

