Deli Belly

Deli Belly

I think it’s safe to say that I’ve gotten my money’s worth out of this NYC trip. 🙂

Today’s work day actually went really well – we seem to have worked out most of the big show-stopper bugs, and we’re making a lot of progress. At the end of the day, when most of the team had left, I got to talking with our customer’s project manager, just about life. I was getting tired, so in true Lindsay fashion, I got diarrhea of the mouth and just kept talking and talking and talking… I ended up telling her about the volunteer work I do, my bartending job, and my volleyball team. By the end of the conversation, she said, “I thought my life was crazy with my commute and then a 2-yr-old and a 5-yr-old, but you might have me beat.” I doubt that’s true, but it was kind of nice that someone else really seemed to understand the insanity that has become my schedule. 🙂

My coworker had to jump on a call for another customer as we were leaving the office, so I took a walk through the neighborhood and ended up at Laduree. I love me some macarons, so I was really looking forward to Laduree – their macarons were the first that I ever tasted, in Paris, so they’ve been my gold standard. I marveled at the gorgeous display of macarons and then chose an assortment of eight to take home.

For dinner, we had to go with one of the most famous places in NYC – Katz’s Delicatessen. The counter area was a bit confusing, but eventually we figured it out. We both got the same thing – the two meat combo reuben. It was sloppy and delicious, but I only managed to eat half of it. Guess I know what I’ll be eating for lunch on Friday after I’m back home! (Actually, probably not… I have so many leftovers to eat when I get home, but I should start from the oldest to the newest. Friday’s lunch will probably be pizza.)

We had to get ice cream one last time, so we walked to Big Gay Ice Cream and got our noms on. I was torn between a Salty Pimp and an American Glob, so I got their lovechild, or what I’ll call a Salty American Pimp. It was basically a Salty Pimp, but with pretzel chunks all over it. It was pretty ridiculous, and kind of difficult to eat. Worth it, though. Still, when it comes to NYC ice cream, I’m convinced that Ample Hills Creamery is the way to go. I’m going to be dreaming about The Munchies until the next time I get into the city.

This was our last night in the city, so I’m heading back home tomorrow. First, I have a full morning of meetings to attend, but I’m really going to miss these people. We really lucked out with the customer team we’re working with; they’re all really nice, bright people who are motivated to get things done. We still get to work with them for another month or so, but it’ll be sad to say goodbye to them. On the other hand, I have a Red Cross meeting I’m trying to get back in time for tomorrow, and then I tentatively have volleyball. One or both of those things might slip, depending on how my travel goes, but if nothing else, I’m on-call overnight on Thursday. Like it or not, it’s back to reality for me tomorrow. 🙂

I’d better start on packing, because I’m sure not going to have a chance to do it tomorrow!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deli Belly

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

