Buy U A Drank

Buy U A Drank

If nothing else, I was very well-hydrated today.

I got a later than usual start to the morning, only because our customer told us we didn’t need to show up until 10 am today. We both took them up on the offer; Mike arrived at 10, and I arrived somewhere around 9:20. Instead of going to the office early, I spent some time on a subway safari and ended up at Coffee Project NY. They’re most known for their de-constructed latte, which is a shot of single-origin espresso, a shot of low-heat pasteurized milk, a latte, soda water, and a small biscuit. The idea is that you take a sip of the espresso, chase it with a sip of the milk, and then take a sip of the latte. The process is supposed to help bring out the different espresso notes in the latte. After you sip the latte, you’re supposed to sip the soda water and eat the biscuit to cleanse your palate before starting the process over again. I don’t know that I tasted much of a difference between this latte and any other latte I’ve ever tasted, but it was really delicious nonetheless. I loved all parts of it, and it was kind of like getting two lattes at once.

Before leaving to go to the office, I grabbed a nitro coffee to go. I’ve had nitro before, but figured I’d need some extra caffeine to get through my day. It was just okay. I usually drink black coffee at work and then coffee with cream and truvia at home, so I’m not unaccustomed to strong black coffee, but it just tasted kind of bitter to me. Still, I drank it. And then when I got to the office I made myself a triple-shot cappuccino. Needless to say, I was wired.

The work day went really well, and I had to leave just after lunch to head to the airport. It was an interesting trip, as my Uber driver hit on me for the entire 45-minute drive (which has never once happened before… it was weird). He even gave me his non-Uber number and made me repeat it back to him, so I had to temporarily put it in my phone. I was supposed to text him when I got back to Pittsburgh, but no thanks. I got to the airport with just enough time to get through security, pee, and grab a snack. I wanted to grab a drink (a *real* drink after the ride to the airport), but all I had time for was a beer at the market at terminal C. I speed-walked to my gate, ready to chug my beer when the time came to board, but I needn’t have rushed. 5 minutes after we were scheduled to leave, we heard an announcement that our flight attendant was stuck in traffic and he’d be about 20 minutes late. An hour later, he finally arrived. I glared at that turd harder than I’ve ever glared at anyone in my entire life. My entire evening and afternoon was booked with things to do, and they all depended on getting back to Pgh relatively on-time so I could beat a lot of the rush-hour traffic. Welp, Tony the tardy flight attendant jacked all that up. I don’t know how the rest of the world works, but if I were to ever be an hour late for a bartending shift and had to keep an entire wedding waiting, I would be fired immediately. Apparently airlines don’t work that way. Tony didn’t even apologize. I’m still pretty peeved, hours later.

So yeah, my schedule was destroyed simply because one person doesn’t know how to plan out his day in order to get to work on time. ARGH.

Eventually, we got on the plane and then we sat in tarmac traffic for another half hour or so. My in-flight plans were to create some standard operating procedures and FAQ documents for the ARC – not for anyone else, really, but for myself. On the flight to NYC, I’d re-read all of the existing documentation, so on the flight back home, I was planning on writing up my notes and updates. I pulled out my notebook and noticed that I kind of really screwed up my 16 in ’16 list – I’d originally included “Eat a cronut from Dominique Ansel’s bakery,” but I’d crossed it out because I didn’t think I’d have a chance to make it happen. Welp. That was dumb. Silly Lindsay.

We were scheduled to arrive at 4:14pm, but since we didn’t leave LaGuardia until well after that, we touched down at around 5:45 in Pittsburgh. Because I’d transported some liquids home, I had to wait for my suitcase at baggage claim (which wouldn’t have been a problem if we’d been on time). That took way too long, and I ended up leaving almost two hours after I’d planned to leave.

I busted tail to get to the ARC chapter for my first team lead meeting, but I still missed the first 45 minutes of it. That was fine, but once the meeting ended, I had about six people asking me questions, so I was one of the last people to leave. Had I gotten there on time, we could have handled at least three of the conversations before the meeting started, but nope.

Luckily, although my volleyball team was scheduled to play at 8, we’re seeded high enough that we had a bye week tonight and the 8pm time was just for a scrimmage. Had it been a real playoff game, I would have left my meeting early, but since it was just for fun, I stuck around in the ARC office. I think I ended up getting home somewhere around 9:30. What a mess of a day. And in less than two hours, I’m on call. Can you die of exhaustion? Cause that might happen if I get a call tonight.

Wish me luck that it’s an uneventful night and that I get to sleep the whole way through. I’ll be more than happy to go out all evening and night tomorrow, if I can just enjoy sleeping in my own bed tonight. Please please please please please. Let’s make this happen, okay?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Buy U A Drank

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    So….did you sleep all night?

    Like

  3. Nothing Personal says:

    Tonys are jackasses.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lindsay says:

      You’re not. That one is.

      Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Aww, well, I’ll hook you up with a complementary drink if I’m ever a flight-attendant Tony.

        In other news, I can’t believe they delay flights and inconvenience countless people because of one person who isn’t the pilot. Must be a federal regulations thing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

