Corn(y) Dogs

Corn(y) Dogs

Pic title: Lindsay discovered pancake-wrapped sausages today!
Pic subtitle: “Quick, Angela, what’s the most unattractive, inappropriate way I can convey to the internet my delight at discovering pancake-wrapped sausages?”

Happy Mother’s Day, friends!

I don’t know about you all, but I’ve had quite an exciting day.

I didn’t set an alarm last night, knowing that I’d be up long before I had to leave to head to my parents’ house. I was scheduled to be on-call until noon, and there was very little chance I’d sleep that long. I was right, and I woke up at 8:28 – not bad for getting to sleep at around 3 am. The thing is, I woke up and immediately thought “get up get up get up get out of bed, you idiot.” No idea why, but that thought kept going through my head, so I got moving. I need to really continue listening to that little voice in my head, because it knows what’s up – not even 10 minutes later, I got a call from our regional center in Philly with details of a multi-family fire in the area. I checked the schedule and just laughed – I was the only person on the schedule until noon. You’re so funny, universe!

So I called our supervisor on duty, explained the situation, and he sent out a text message asking for a bunch of people. We ended up with four of us total, which was good enough for us to leave.

Without giving details about the fire or location, let’s just say it was a very exciting and long day. I was on the scene for nearly six hours getting everything squared away. At one point, I was walking back to our vehicle when I saw two of our volunteers chowing down on what I thought were corn dogs. Oh nay nay, those were no corn dogs. They were sausage links wrapped in pancakes on a stick. WHAT? WHERE HAVE THESE BEEN ALL MY LIFE? One of them went to fetch me one and I turned to the other and asked what the best way would be to inappropriately display my excitement, and the picture above is what we came up with. Note the sweet volunteer vest and #Merica shades. Does it get more all-American than this picture? I think not.

Eventually, I was able to leave and headed straight to my parents’ house without stopping at my house first. When I got the call in the morning, I figured it would be a good idea to pack some nicer clothes. Once again, I was right. 😉

I was immediately greeted by my two fur-brothers, who were waiting not-so-patiently for me. Taco was so excited scratched my car (teensy scratch), but he’s cute, so it’s okay. When I went to say hey to my dad when he was doing work in the basement, the pups tried to follow me. This might be the only picture where both of them are looking in my direction while I took the picture, and I think that’s only because it was dark in the basement and they couldn’t see me get my phone out. Still, they’re too darn cute. I can’t handle them. 🙂

We had a nice dinner with my mom, dad, and two grandmas, and then I left directly from the restaurant. I was only off-call (is that a thing?) from noon to 6, but it really ended up being around 2-6. So starting at 6, I needed to head back just in case I got another call. So far, I haven’t, but I have that weird feeling going on. Thing is, I’m on call until 6 am, so while I feel like I might get another call, I’m afraid it’s going to be at 3:30 in the morning again. So far, I haven’t taken off my shoes; I’m ready to go. Instead, I should start getting ready for bed. This girl is exhausted.

Hope your day was as good as mine, but maybe not quite as exciting. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corn(y) Dogs

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Those silly boys are so darn cute.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

